Best Headset - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 04:03 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

003 what kind of headphones do you have now? I heard you got sucked in to that audiophile stuff once you got an A-900 (which I plan on getting).
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 04:15 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Ah, dont know how I missed this thread. Get an Audio-Technica ATH-A500 with a zalman clip on mic.
I dont think the Audio-Technica ATH-A500's are available in UK, i cant find them anywhere.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 04:56 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
Default

get some good headphones that cost you a bit, then get a clip on mic, i got these

http://www.audiovisualonline.co.uk/d...s/display.html

and this

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Product...5&GroupID=1138

this was on a budget, so if i was you and want to spend bout £40 - £50 id get that clip on, (wish i saw that b4 i bought my mic! it looks so cool) and go all out on headhpones, get the best you can.

£40 - Sennheiser HD515
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...thout_Mic.html

or a bit more @ £60 - Sennheiser HD555
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...thout_Mic.html

on the same page one after another, if you cannot afford £40 or just dont want to pay it then id go for the headphones ive got, ive had no probs with them and sound quality is excellent.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please refer to the sig rules before adding another one.
Pwnz0r is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:08 PM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
at chris_pc is there any bad points u hav found with the pc160's? i read a review which said the bass wasnt too good but this is coming from ppl that use only the best
I have found the Bass on the headset excellent. The only small thing I can find with them is that they can become slightly uncomfertable after wearing for 2hours+, but maybe thats just me.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:36 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I think the max amount im willing to pay is £50 and i know the pc160's are going to be really good.
I dont want to have to pay 2 x p+p which will be the case if i buy the headphones the a lil mic to go on.
I have until the 30th to decide cos the pc160's offer ends then.
Chris_pc how much did u pay for urs?
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:05 PM   #36 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
I dont think the Audio-Technica ATH-A500's are available in UK, i cant find them anywhere.
You can get them on audiocubes.com, they ship world wide.

I have the Sennheiser HD650 headphones and a WooAudio 3 amp:
http://www.wooaudio.com/products/wooaudio3.html
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:35 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

i would rather order from uk cos it will b cheaper plus i cant use my card on american sites. $470 lol i dont think ill get that!
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:40 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

No he was telling me what he had. But I think you should get the Audio Technica ATH-A500's they are only $100.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:01 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

they are too expensive for me but thanks anyway. i only want these headphones for gaming not listening to music. the pc160s are looking favourites for me with a good price.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:08 PM   #40 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The A500s are amazing for gaming, far better than what you are considering. If you want sennheiser the HD555 is also very good for gaming.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.