Best Case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2006, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Best Case

My new specs are going to be:

Intel Core2Duo E6400
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...2E16819115004R

580W PSU

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817128002

Geforce 7900GTO EVGA

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130065

ASUS P965 Motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813131045

These items were all suggested for my gaming PC by other users on this forum.
I basically want a quick gaming PC, to be able to play everything on good settings.

Ok well here is the question/point of the post
What case would you recommend for these specs?
I want something that would get the job done. Without a PSU. It needs to have plenty of USB slots
Maybe an LCD display
And any other helpful features.
One thing I don't need is the case to look good...I don't LAN very much, so I'm not really wanting to pay extra cash for the design.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Are there any good sound cards that allow you to run linux on?
And is this a good HD to get>?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136014
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

I think the best LCD's are...

NEC MultiSync 70Gx2 / 90Gx2 (17' & 19')
Go to your local Frys or Bestbuy to check them out. There opticlear screen stands out by far next to all the other LCD's. Also there only 4ms. The 20.1' Widescreen 20WMGX2 is my favorite.

Mid tower cases...I like the way the Thermaltake Tsunami looks, and for full towers I like the Gigabyte 3D Auras and The Thermaltake Armories.

Or if you want to save some money, Check out my sig. I'm selling my new rig that I just built.
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

yeah, that harddrive is fine.

You could get 2 250gig hd's and put them in RAID 0 for a little cheaper though.... RAID was kind of a pain to setup on my Asus P5B board though.

What kind of RAM you using?

Cases... I went with a Cooler Master Centurion 5. Dont be fooled by the low price - its the best bang for the ****.

Just look around on newegg and post up cases you like, people will critique.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

I am using DDR RAM 1 gig of it.
I got it for 30 bucks retail.
I thought it was pretty sweet...
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

What HD would you recommend me getting? Whats Raid? Does it come with the card? What does it do?
Sorry for the redundant questions..I'm a noob.
But I'm about to look at the coolermaster.
By LCD I mean , LCD on the Tower. I guess I should've specified that. So I can see what the temperature is. But if thats too pricey on a Case, or if it really unneeded then just say.

but by the way,,
I'm not worried about junking my CRT just yet.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

About that Hiper PSU... go read the review on www.jonnyguru.com

That Hiper isnt all that to be honest. I was going to buy that psu too till I read up on it. That thing only puts out 360w usable power. Thats pretty **** low for a 580w.

Since you want modular, put out an extra $30 and get a Corsair hx520w. The Corsair puts out 480w usable power and its modular!

You can check out other PSU's too at www.jonnyguru.com
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Thanks for everyone's help!
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

If you bought DDR ram it will not be compatible with your system.

You need DDR2 ram


RAID = redundant array of inexpensive discs. Basically a way to manage multiple drives for different purposes.

Check out this case:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811209020

read the reviews though
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

yeah, i was looking at that case. It looks pretty sweet.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.