Best Agp Card Under 120$ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Arrow Best Agp Card Under 120$

i am building a comp for my bro....
hes got AGP so dont post pci or pci-e
dont care if its nvidia or ATI just make sure and post which one is better and which would be more reliable.
NO more than 120$$
prefferably 128mb or 256mb

i was thinking about getting a 1600XT 256 mb......that should be able to run CSS??? if you have this card then lemme know the pros and cons. thanks- HUNTER
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

$129 - $20 MIR = $109

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130001
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

is the reliability and life on this card very good???? and does anyone know anything about the x1600XT???? thanks for the reply
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

The X1600XT is better than the 6600GT, but I doubt you'll find it for under $120.

Agreed, go 6600GT.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, Oregon
Posts: 145
Default

Yeah, go for the 6600gt.
__________________
Completed 1st System:
Case...Antec Super LanBoy $30
PSU...Antec SP2.0 500W $50
Mobo...MSI K8N Neo4-F $85
CPU...Athlon 64 3200+ Venice $162
Video...EVGA GeForce 6800 GS $196
Memory...OCZ 1GB (512MB x 2) $60
Hard Drive...Hitachi 80GB $20
Gaming without lag...priceless.
newcement is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

ok thanks guys.......anyone else with a different point of view??? and does anyone own this AGP card???
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

no .. i dont own it but ... thats about the best bet for you .. i even think it can be unlocked ... not sure if its this one or the 6800
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

thanks looks like ill be picking this up from newegg soon
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Theyoyokid303
no .. i dont own it but ... thats about the best bet for you .. i even think it can be unlocked ... not sure if its this one or the 6800
6600GT can't be unlocked. Often times the 6800 can be unlocked effectively upgrading it to almost 6800GT performance.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

6800 can only be unlocked in the AGP version. And even then its "iffy."
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.