Been out of the loop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2012, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Been out of the loop

So I should finally be getting the cash to get an IB rig up and running, but I haven't been keeping an eye on hardware updates so looking for a yay/nay from those of you who have.

i5 3570k (aiming for ~4.5ghz)
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Xigmatek Aegir
G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600/CAS8
WD Caviar Blue
OCZ Vertex 4
MSI TF IV GTX 670
Corsair HX750
+ case/odd/os

In the spring I was leaning toward an MSI GD65 or Asus P8Z77-V, but from some quick and dirty research it looks like the Extreme4 has more or less the same features for much less, unless I missed something?

Not sure what changed between the OCZ 3 series and the 4 but a 128GB Vertex 4 is only $10 more than a 120GB Agility 3 so why not go for it...
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Been out of the loop

Only 2 things I would switch. The SSD and the cooler.
I would get an H50 and Samsung 830.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Been out of the loop

Thanks for pointing out the Sam830, poked around and it looks solid.

The cooler I'm pretty set on. I'm no thermodynamics master, but it makes logical sense to me having a double stack of direct-touch heat pipes for IB due to its smaller dissipation area.
That and even before I left the hardware scene there were a lot of complaints about Corsair's hydro series having pump problems (grinding, cavitation, failure, etc...), though I can't remember if they were just specific to the H80.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Been out of the loop

I have had this H50 for a while and it is cooling my 3960x. It took my 2500k to about 4.8ghz too.
The H50 is as good as the best air coolers basically. I also only have one Sythe Kaze on mine in a pull setup pulling cool air from the front of my case.
To each his own, but Xigs coolers haven't been decent for a while.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Veraster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 304
Default Re: Been out of the loop

If I were you I'd get something better than a WD caviar blue. I had a 320gb one and it was a little slower than I would of liked it to be. If your budget allows it, buy a WD Caviar black or equivalent. Or an ssd if you're OK with the idea of significantly sacrificing space for speed and spending 4x more.
Veraster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Been out of the loop

The Caviar Blue would be for storage, the SSD is already in there (Vert4/Sam830).

I'm impressed that it ran slower than you would have liked though, from what I understand the blue is supposed to be the balance between noise/vibration and speed even though its still a 7200RPM drive.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Been out of the loop

Cache is smaller, but speed is relative. A HDD is a HDD and the only difference is RPM speed.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With For Loop Arbiter Programming 6 06-25-2011 05:48 AM
A little out of the loop SirCyber Microsoft Windows and Software 5 03-18-2009 10:36 PM
Out of the loop.... Mordred New Systems | Building and Buying 2 09-08-2008 03:17 PM
LOop??? heavoff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-16-2007 11:31 PM
loop ibexpiotr Programming 3 01-28-2005 12:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.