Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2009, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

Hello again, i have a question about my friends computer. He has a DFI lan party NF4 SLI-DR Motherboard The DFI LANParty NF4 SLI-DR - Impression - Legit Reviews, 2gb of ram,450w PSU, and a 7950gt 512mb video card.Currently running xp.

He has been running this rig since all the parts were relatively new to the market. Recently he has experienced huge fps drops in games he has played for years. We started to investigate drivers,tweaks, and the software side of things to no avail. The fps would simply fluctuate based on nothing apparent to us.

We decided to open his case and see what was going on, we noticed that the 24 pin connector had a 20 pin in it leaving 4 extra pins open. There is a 4 pin 12v plugged into the board above the 24pin port. There is also a 4 pin connector that we cannot figure what it is used for that is not connected. The mystery port is circled and marked as number 2.

Now the question is, do you see anything wrong? Is it bad to have a 20 pin connected to a 24 pin port, while a 4pin is connected above. Do you know what the 4 pin port near the chip set fan is for?


melioz is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

the 4 pin is extra power for the mobo, basically to help stabilize overclocks and stuff.

and the 4 pin i think you are reffering to as the one above the 24 pin sounds like the 4 pin CPU power. it would be not good to plug in the extra 4 pins from the 24 pin power connector. your psu should have an extra connector for the "4 pin above the 24 pin mobo connector.


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD


<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-02-2009, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

Have you checked for viruses/spyware/malware? when was the last time it had a reinstall? Nothing really looks wrong from what you are describing, as long as there is sufficient power from the powersupply for the system, and the 4pin is plugged in (cpu 12v). 20 pins in a 24 pin psu main socket is ok, the extra 4 add for system stability, as well as the accessory power port (the molex by the southbridge). That is only really needed if you have all of your usb/pci slots full, or are running SLI/Crossfire. Have you checked the temps on the cpu/gpu yet? when was the last time the system was cleaned? it could just use a good dusting out.
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Dauntae's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

The 4 pin connected to the 20 pin should be used to make it a 24 pin connector and the extra 4 pin that's by itself should be connected to the 4 pin connector right above the 24 pin connector. As for the fluctuating FPS it could be spyware, a virus or a failing video card but my bet would be spyware draining resources lagging the system down.

New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
synergy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

The circled molex connector (2) on the motherboard is just to give more power to the graphics card. It's not really needed unless you were running a higher end card that needed more juice.

I would try a reformat and reinstall of Windows. If he's running on the same install he's had for 4-5 years then there's probably a whole bunch of issues. The registry gets loaded with junk and slows things down substantially. Disk fragmentation, possible malware, a lot of unneeded files, etc.
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 10:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: Been boggling my mind. Can you clarify?

Wow, I'm surprised it would boot with the 24 bpin not all in... AND what looks like the cpu not powered.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for PSU selection w/ future SLI in mind MrFeetZ System Upgrades 5 03-06-2009 02:20 PM
Mind Boggling Raid Problems DesoShade Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2008 07:43 PM
with the AMD Phenom in mind (Am2) game motherboards?? Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-25-2007 02:09 PM
Weekend Fun Poizoned Mind Osiris PC Gaming 0 09-28-2007 07:01 AM
Crazy Mind Reader!!! Vaanish Off Topic Discussion 20 08-24-2007 04:06 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.