ballistix - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default ballistix

Im getting a set of ddr2 800 ballistix tracers from a friend for real cheap.
I have two questions:
I know that mixing ram isnt good, but would it make a difference for tracers vs regular ballistix (that i have already) even though its the same thing just with leds?

Also, since i know that i can only use 3.5gigs of ram, would having 4 reduce stability or anything bad at all? Or would it just act like the extra ram wasn't in there?

Thanks alot guys,
Taintedplay
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: ballistix

itl just act liek the extra ram isnt there, and the tracers shoudl work with your balistix as they both use teh d9 micron and are exacly the same exept for the fact of the led's, so you should be fine, how much did you pay for them exacly?
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: ballistix

Um the mixing should be fine there basically the same rams just the tracers have leds on them and for 4Gigs i recommend just use 3 Sticks for 3GB of total ram i think if you stick in all 4 the system just wont read one gig of stick and it wont be in use it should be find my friend stuck 2GB of kingston hyper x and a ADATA 1GB and nothing happened to his comp.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: ballistix

you only coem into trouble when yoru overclocking, when mixing ram ,but these balistix are exacly the same exept for the led's.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: ballistix

You can use all 4 sticks (4GB) with no problems. Windows will just show somewhere around 3.25-3.50GB of mem, unless you are using 64bit and then all 4gb will be displayed.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: ballistix

thanks! and i payed 20 for em. He nees money quick so i got a great deal
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: ballistix

Wow that's an awesome price, Great buy! I just upgraded to tracers myself and I have to say, they were definitely worth the money. I think they are phenomenal. Idk if its just me but I think they are even more stable than the regular Ballistix I used to have.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 03:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: ballistix

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
thanks! and i payed 20 for em. He nees money quick so i got a great deal
for what, drugs?
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Deal on Newegg - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB) undefined Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 01-01-2008 09:47 PM
Ballistix DDR2 8500 2GB for $85 after MIR jfenwick Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 10-20-2007 08:28 AM
normal crucial ballistix or tracer? advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-03-2007 05:02 PM
Got my Ballistix!! w00t w00t! TheOtis Overclocking and Modding 9 09-30-2007 07:21 PM
GA-965P-DS3 1.0 with Ballistix D9's? mkonjibhu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-06-2007 09:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.