Bad RAID driver on Abit AW9D-Max - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2007, 01:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 36
Default Bad RAID driver on Abit AW9D-Max

I've had to flash my BIOS with an update. I kept getting a postcode 2A and it would hang on boot. Finally got that going. A buddy of mine really helped out. He also assisted with locating where to enable SATA RAID 5, after figuring out how to disable IDE RAID (why it's enabled I have no idea...). So I'm through most of the hurdles before I can start installing Windows XP Pro 64 Bit.

BIOS is now version 15, from Abit's site.

Current problem is during the initial loading of software components for a Windows install, I have to hit F6 to tell it I have a driver for RAID. It goes through it's process of loading drivers for basic stuff, then says it can't find a driver for RAID. It prompts me to put a floppy in Drive A: and press Enter. The driver floppy, which was created using the CD that came with the mobo, seems to have an error. Some item in the configuration on the floppy is making something on the CD crap out. Windows install hangs up at that point, and if I hit continue, it says it cannot find any hard drives to install to.

Loved the "Setup RAID Floppy" program: it says "make driver. put floopy disk."

My current configuration:
Abit AW9D-Max LGA 775
C2D e6600 Conroe 2.5GHz
4 GB (2x2GB) G.Skill PC2 6400
(3) Maxtor DiamondMax 500GB SATA in RAID5 (on SATA1, 2 and 3)
GeForce 8800GTS (soon to be 2 in SLI)
Thermaltake Toughpower W0117RU 750W PSU

If anybody's been through this before, any assist would be much appreciated.

I was sitting here earlier today, playing WoW on my 17" P4 laptop sitting next to my blank 30" Dell flat screen. It's a little depressing. $2,000 worth of hardware and a $1,500 monitor and I'm still using the junker.

tlharrell is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 36
Default Re: Bad RAID driver on Abit AW9D-Max

Looks like I just hit a wall with this card. I'm stuffing it back in the box. Hopefully I can RMA the sucker and get some $ back.

From ViperLair:
V I P E R L A I R .com - Abit AW9D-MAX motherboard, Page 1/4
"Despite appearances, SLI is not supported."

DOH! WTF?!?!?!
tlharrell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 03:16 PM
Raid help. objecterror New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-31-2007 11:11 AM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 08:42 AM
NVIDIA 100.14.03 Linux Driver Osiris Linux and Open Source 0 04-21-2007 10:50 AM
RAID 5 issue Chveu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-04-2007 03:13 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.