bad mobo can damage cpu? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2009, 05:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Do have a PSU handy that you can swap out? If not, we can recommend some.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 06:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

I have a couple, so I'll probably do that.

I've heard antec basiq is a reliable bargain psu.
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

by what your saying i'd so its your OS. virus or spyware might have effected it from working properly so now the best thing to do is reinstall windows. that should solve your problem.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 10:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
by what your saying i'd so its your OS. virus or spyware might have effected it from working properly so now the best thing to do is reinstall windows. that should solve your problem.
There are a couple of things you can besides just "reinstalling windows"

First you can try a "repair install" - which you act like you're going to install a fresh copy of windows, but when you get to the Partition Select screen - and it identifies an existing copy of windows you hit "R" instead and it will just rip out Window's guts and replace it with a fresh copy of the OS files.

The other thing is to go into command prompt and type in
Code:
sfc /scannow
You have to put in the Windows install disk but it will essentially do the same thing as reinstalling windows. Fresh copy of the registry and DLL's and everything.

Those are good things for speeding up a computer and ruling out an OS problem without actually starting from scratch.
__________________

SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 05:07 AM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
The OS, CPU, and Mobo Brtnboarder495 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-05-2007 08:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.