bad mobo can damage cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2009, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default bad mobo can damage cpu?

I've been trouble shooting a computer for awhile, which gets unstable during virus scans or on the internet. I've pretty much isolated the problem to the:

motherboard or bios
cpu
power supply

I'm thinking of putting in a new cpu to see if that would fix things, but I'm concerned that if the problem is in the mobo or the psu it could damage the new cpu. Is this likely?
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Possibly, but I think you're looking in completely the wrong place; sounds like either you have something virusey or your OS is corrupted in some way.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

A cheap PSU will damage many things - as it will deliver unstable voltages.

If the mobo is also unable to properly manage the voltage to the CPU it could cause damage as well.

Please provide the make and model of your CPU, MOBO and PSU
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

mobo is asus p5n-e sli
cpu is intel core 2 duo e4300 allendale
psu is antec smartpower 2.0 sp-500

I think the power supply is very good, but who knows. All the cables look good, no obvious damages visible on the mobo
darsunt is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Also I have 2 vista disks, one student version and one oem, and neither will install on this computer. Only my old xp disk will install. The student vista disk installed well on my 'other' repaired computer.
darsunt is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

This sounds like you have some problem with your HDDs. I wouldn't be looking at your cpu or mobo.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Quote:
Those Antec Smartpower PSUs had a serious problem a while ago. I don't know if it was one batch or what. This might be a good time to upgrade.
Antec Smartpower 2.0 450 watt psu and 8800GT?

Google is your best friend. Try replacing that PSU.

What error does Vista give you when trying to install?
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 03:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Have you checked your motherboard over for bad caps?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 03:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35g700 View Post
Have you checked your motherboard over for bad caps?
oooh. you're talking more trouble than it's worth... you could spend hours going over it just to find nothing wrong but still have it not work.
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: bad mobo can damage cpu?

Yes, it might be good to try a different power supply first.

I did swap out the hard drive, the optical drive, and the memory. All work okay on my repaired computer.
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it mobo or cpu? Crazy658 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-09-2008 05:07 AM
Bad MB or CPU? fallow Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-16-2007 06:49 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
The OS, CPU, and Mobo Brtnboarder495 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-05-2007 08:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.