Backing up BF2 data - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Backing up BF2 data

I'm soon going to do a reformat and reinstall. Do I need to back up any files from my BF2 game? Or are they all saved through EA through your proflile?
__________________

plumber4578 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

For any non steam game I just copy the entire program files folder onto a cd or another hdd, and then after you reformat when you reinstall it doesn't take as long and you keep all your game data.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

you dont need to save anything.. exept any pictures you may have taken.

Also do not forget to backup the patched.

Once you re-formmat and reinstall BF2.. when it ask for your acct details go to retreive account.

All your unlocked wepons,stats and rank will remain.

and if you did not know you can atually look up your stats in more detail at this site.
http://bf2tracker.com/bf2_searchplayer.php
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

If you want to, you can back up the BF2 file in "My document"
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vybuni
If you want to, you can back up the BF2 file in "My document"
you can.. but there is completely no point. When he logs in after he reformatts it will just download all of his stats.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I know, but its a way to "back up" the profile
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

If you want to save your controls and stuff you will need to backup the 'Profiles' folder in the program directory. Other than computer specific settings, your stats and everything are stored on EA's servers.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.