Back and still no Rig lolz - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2008, 02:24 PM   #61 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

how's about you buy a 150gb raptor for os and games... and then your 1tb hdd for everything else... seems smarter to me

and no raid 0 is not going to be phased out.... its just not a smart choice to use raid 0 on two huge hard drives that carry data because failure rate is higher than using just a single drive without raid
but, if you are not planning on storring any important information.. the go right ahead and raid any two drives you want

i don't understand how you could possibly phase out raid 0... its going to be used forever.... and is even being used with current ssd's for 300mb/s read speeds!! NUTTY!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:28 PM   #62 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

that... sounded like pure sarcasm.. and Mb or MB/s speeds? lol.. if its Mega bits well then.. that was surely sarcasm.. but if you meant MB/s then it wouldn't be .... . .. . .. .. 1011000101 1000101 0010101

I guess honestly even if I don't Raid0, the 160s are sorta wasted.... reason... after 5 minutes of thought.... is this

First HDD would have OS on it.. thats about it.
Second would have Swap File, "My Document Files" and the re-installation files, along with Anti-virus and Anti-malware tools, and any other 'needed' drivers and information, Dx, GPU drivers, sound, etc. Possibly a small section for backup of important documents, such as pictures and memories.

A third Large Capacity Harddrive would be used for Games and such. So I would have 3 HDD in total.
__________________

Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:33 PM   #63 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

yes i meant mb/s

ssd's go roughly 150-180mb/s read times... which is just plain FAST

i am using one 30gb ssd for my operating system and this thing flys... thoug it only averages at about 140mb's... thats okay with me

and there was no sarcasm there.. none intended...

if u don't know how to use raid.. or want to go through the trouble... then get a 60gb SSD, or the 150gb velociraptor... then just 1 really large drive (your 1tb drive) for media (songs dvd and all that good stuff)
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:45 PM   #64 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

Iam using a 60GB now for pretty much everything and its getting rather full. only thing not on it is the OS which is on a secondary Harddrive. I don't even have the 'high end' games installed either... so would you include the games on the 60GB SSD, or put them on the TB?

Looking for fastest times and least lag really. Although almost anything is an improvement to what I have now

also for the SSD, which interface am I looking for?
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:53 PM   #65 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

Just for the record I run Fallout 3 with mostly high settings at 1280x800 res with my laptops 8600gt 256mb...

To be honest she'd be perfectly fine with a Decent C2Q, a 9800GTX+, 4gigs of DDR2, good mobo, 500W PSU, and a single TB drive.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:55 PM   #66 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

but would that be future proofing much there aspire.comptech? I don't want to have to do another major upgrade for .. 5 years.
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:00 PM   #67 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

A Core i7 probably won't be considered fast in 5 years...

Instead of going overkill now, spend a bit less and then build a new rig 3 years from now and you'll wind up having a computer that is current and up to date enough to play or run anything for a lot longer.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:01 PM   #68 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

If you can afford i7 I see no reason to go with a Core 2 quad. Core i7 is faster and as more applications can take advantage of 8 threads it will only get better. Also if you got a Core 2 Quad you would have no upgrade options while lga1366 will at least be used through Westmere.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:21 PM   #69 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

yay intel core i7!! wooooo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:22 PM   #70 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: Back and still no Rig lolz

oh iam going i7 there ain't no way not to now. lol. i7 or bust. and I don't mean the bust in front of me
__________________

Gothch1ck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.