Audio editing Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2008, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Cool Audio editing Build

As the title says I need a rig that will do some serious Audio editing work I have a fair idea what I want but I just wanted to confirm with you guys. The budget is NZ$4000. Parts im thinking of;

-Intel core I7 940
-Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4
-4 500GB HDD's in Raid (1TB space and the other two for redundancy)
-Corsair 620HX
-12GB Gskill DDR3 1300

What I need is to know if this would be suitable. Also I need a video card (It will be running two for tri screens). These cards will have to be single slot (maybe 4850's?) so the two soundcards can fit. If you want you can pick different components but just remember the budget is in New Zealand dollars and is therefore less than US dollars, and that it has to fit two video cards and two sound cards.
__________________

__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Audio editing Build

The parts you picked will be pretty amazing. You'd have no troubles.
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Ok so my friends budget has gone down to $3000 since he needs screens too. Heres what I have so far;

Intel Q9650 3.00GHz, 12mb L2 cache CPU = $967.50 from OCZone
GSkill 4Gb DDR2 800MHz ((2x2GB) x2) RAM = $216.90 from C1Shoppingmall
Samsung SH-S223F SATA DVD = $42.25 from C1Shoppingmall
ATI HD4870 GPU1 = $399.92 from OCZone
ATI HD4850 GPU2 = $307.13 from OCZone
Corsair 620HX PSU = $179.00 from PlayTech

+400 for case, and I need to find a motherboard that has 3 pci slots and 2 pci-e slots (one needs to be double width)
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 06:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Audio editing Build

why ever would you need 4870 and 4850 for an audio station?

unless somehow audio now has 3d plug-in??????
then okay I can see how you would need 2 GAMING gfx cards

fast cpu --- check
lots of ram ---- maybe grab 8 Gbs
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Um, if you are into audio editing then you should invest most of your money towards a kick a** sound card. Look for quality brands like Asus and Auzentek.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Just so you know this rig is for a friend not me, and yea it is going to have 2 maudio delta 1010's in it (US$750 each), Also this will be used for gaming aswell, since I found out you can use three screens with one video card and the onboard graphics It will only have one gpu now and ill find a motherboard with intergrated graphics
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Sweet, well if you're gonna have 3 monitors 4850's in Crossfire will do the trick.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Audio editing Build

So can you use multi monitors and crossfire now? I always thought it couldnt be done
__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Roberto View Post
So can you use multi monitors and crossfire now? I always thought it couldnt be done
that was SLI..which they just released drivers for
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Audio editing Build

Well thats good to know because It might have to have two video cards, because my friends dad is paying for it and wants it to use a core I7 so its as future proof as possible. And none of the core I7 motherboards I can buy (if any) have integrated graphics
__________________

__________________

- Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz 1.33v -
- G.Skill 4Gb DDR2 @ 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15 -
- XFX 5850 @ Stock -
- Gigabtye GA-G33M-DS2R -
- Intel X-25V 40Gb Solid State -
- Corsair 520HX 520Watts -
- Cooler Master CM690 -
El_Roberto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
The Best Cd Ripper Period EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 31 09-18-2008 10:13 PM
Onboard Audio for MSI Mobo and CM 690 case undefined System Upgrades 8 01-05-2008 07:05 PM
Gigabyte GA-p35-DS35 Audio Issue Indobos Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-17-2007 12:00 PM
super audio grabber 3.0 problem? speed101 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 12-15-2007 11:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.