Audio Cable quick question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default Audio Cable quick question

I just made a computer for a friend and he wants to hook up his computer to his two receivers. I know he needs an RCA to 3.5mm audio cable, but do they make these cables that branch off into two so that he can hook up his PC to both receivers?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

you mean like a Y cable?

why is he hooking up two receivers?
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

2 receivers? wtf?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

He could always get a sound card with RCA or optical outputs since 3.5mm to RCA usually degrades sound quality and causes backgroudn noise.

As for the 2 recievers thing...why would you need two recievers?

If you really are going to hook up two recievers just get a Y spliter that splits each channel (red and white) into two channeles and plug your RCA's coming from the recievers into those.
BillGates is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Thanks for the great response BillGates. That's exactly what I wanted to know.

So to make sure, can I plug two rca to 3.5mm cables into this Y splitter and it will work for both receivers? Will there be any loss of sound quality cause I am using a Xi-Fi XtremeMusic sound card?

He is using two receivers because one is for his family room and the other is for the whole house (weird).

Also, is a 3.5mm mini to rca audio cable the same as 3.5mm to rca cable? Does the "mini" part matter? Which do I need for hooking up a sound card to a receiver?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

please respond. i need to order this stuff asap
persianxballer is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 04:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Here I'll show you what to get with pictures.

One of these to go from the computer to the splitters.



The splitter that attach to the cable above. (2 of these, 1 for each channel)




Then you will of coarse need RCA's to run from teh splitters to the actual recievers.

BillGates is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Let me show you what a salesperson told me:
Get two of these wires

and connect them to this

and then connect each 3.5mm to the receivers.

Is this correct?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by persianxballer
Let me show you what a salesperson told me:
Get two of these wires

and connect them to this

and then connect each 3.5mm to the receivers.

Is this correct?
Yep either way will work.

His way just splits the signal then converts to RCA and my way splits it after its converted to RCA. Doesn't really matter which way you do it.
BillGates is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

just see which totals up to be cheaper.

if the price is the same, get the second method since i presume the signal loss from the rca to y-cable, then y-cable to the rca cable is greater than with that other method
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.