ATX or mATX PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2006, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default ATX or mATX PSU

Well basically im very confused.

http://www.packardbell.co.uk/produc...4331901-46.html

i bought that pc for xmas, i also bought a xfx geforce8800gts. I went to install it all today to find out that my PSU had no PCI-E connector. So i thougt cool just need to go and buy a new PSU and all is good BUT one of my friends said that it could be a mATX then i wld struggle to get a 400w + PSU which is what is needed for the 8800gts. Could someone please help me sort out my PSU im very confused :S

Thanks


current PSU - fsp250-60hen

cant find anything about it
__________________

crober33 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It depends what Case you have. If you have a Micro Atx Case then you need a Matx PSU, if its an ATX Case then you need an ATX Psu.
You don't want to buy exactly the minimum Requirements.

If you must look for a 450 watt fortron. But you should go 500 Watts to allow expanding room. And a Good brand name to.
Antec
HIper
Enermax
Fortron
Silverstone
eTagan
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

How do i tell if its a mATX or ATX, also do mATX go over 400w?
crober33 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It should say on the the Booklet for the Motherboard or Case what type it is.

And matx should go over 400 Watts, but there isn't a wide selection of Matx.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thats the problem i cant find out any information about the motherboard, so i have no idea what it is

got the pc in pc-worlds clearance and it didnt come with any information.

edit: the motherboard is around 9-10" by 9-10"
the case 15" by 15"
crober33 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

The Motherboard May be MATX but the Case is probably ATX. So look for an ATX Power supply with the parameters I listed above.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

just noticed this - rails +3.3v +5v +12v1 +5vsb -12v +12v2

wld that in anyway tell u if its a ATX PSU?
crober33 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It doesn't Matter, you still need to buy a new Power supply. Like I said, the case appears to be ATX and the Mobo mATX. The Case type determines the Power supply to fit it.

Now, go show around for a 450 to 500 Watt ATX Power supply of the following Brands.
Fortron
Hiper
Enermax
Hiper
Seasonic
SilverStone
eTagan

Since, I don't know where you shop, Ill let you look.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.