ATI X1600 pro - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2006, 01:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
mole1135's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 347
Send a message via AIM to mole1135 Send a message via Yahoo to mole1135

got from best buy


AIM- Mole1135 Yahoo mail-
mole1135 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 01:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640

That explains everything, lol. I bought a FX5200 from Circuit City for $150...*cry*

Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

whoa, $150??
I only paid AU$30 for my FX-5200
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

The X1600 series has 256 bit memory. The difference is that the communication between the GPU and the memory is 128 bit.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 11:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640

Originally posted by apokalipse
whoa, $150??
I only paid AU$30 for my FX-5200
Yea, it was in October 2004, so like 1 1/2 years ago, but still, $150 is a major ripoff back then too.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 02:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

best buy ripped me off too....195 for my radeon 9550 SE....didnt even have a fan, and I bought this in december 05....its a pretty decent cad I guess...

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 02:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,029

The real problem w/ it is the DDR2 and the 128bit memory interface. The 6800s have GDDR3 and 256bit memory interface. (GT ultra GS)

"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.