Ati tool overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2007, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Ati tool overclocking

With ati tool, will it reset the clocks if the gpu is running too hot? Also, how can i tell how hot my gpu is going to run while playing certain games with high physics and whatnot?
__________________

1337infamous is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ati tool overclocking

if it gets too hot, your computer will probably crash, or you might start seeing glitches while gaming.
And for checking the temps while gaming, you could always minimize the game while playing it.

Just run the artifact scanner for about 15-30 mins, and if no errors or yellow dots appear, the clock is reasonably safe.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Ati tool overclocking

You can also enable logging while ATITool is running, and then check the log/look for a time when you were playing the game, and then average out a few of the readings to get a general temp.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Ati tool overclocking

wow... completely covered... i have nothing to add...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Default Re: Ati tool overclocking

right on, thanks guys. Techforums own!
1337infamous is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 48 10-12-2007 02:25 PM
ATI tool not detecting GTX... Pinscher Overclocking and Modding 12 09-13-2007 03:47 PM
How good is ATI Tool? mgcook Overclocking and Modding 2 09-10-2007 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.