Ati Radeon X1900 With Pics!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 02:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by d00dwheresmycar
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=4346

Found more info involving 3D Mark 05 Scores, It seems the X1900 Crossfire will beat the new Nvidia 7900 it says on that sites by 500 pts. Please note that the Nvidia was tested with an AMD FX-60 and the X1900 was tested with an FX-57
although the FX-60 is dual core, and 3Dmark 05 isn't a multithreading application
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

I don't care. $900 bucks? No thanks. THats like 1000 Canadian. I'm NEVER buying that card, I always aim for priceerformance ratios, so far Nvidias leader in that category. Sure, ATi might make great video cards, but they often fail to recognize their target audience. The gamers who buy the cards, and majority of them are under 30, and don't have THAT Much cash to spend on 48 shader pipelines with 512mb of gddr3 memory. I'll just take my 6600GT (or 6800GS for this time) and just keep on gaming.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ATI has a bad reputation for their paperlaunches and them exaggerating the card. 11,600 in 3dmark05 is pretty impressive but it's got a nice FX-55 at 2.85GHz helping it out as well......of course we all know that the CPU doesn't play a huge roll in 3dmark05 particularly.

That'll be pretty cool if it actually winds up being as powerful as they are claiming but as usual I'll wait to see what happens.

Either way it's something I can't afford
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

PC gaming is getting more expensive each day...I'm hoping my 7800GT will hold me over till the G80. I personally would advise skipping this generation since the G80 will include DX10 support and will likely wipe the floor with this one. I haven't heard anything about what ATI has planned to compete with the G80.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I heard that it is actually still a 16 pipe card, but each pipeline does 3 times the work
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'm tellin ya, one of these dang days it's gonna look like you have two PC's but in reality the 2nd box will be purely for graphics. It's gonna wind up needing it's own power supply, be the size of a freakin motherboard, maybe swappable GPUs and memory and crap and cost $2000 easily and connect via a high speed port that has yet to be invented
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:14 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how long do yoy think it will be before graphics become indistinguishable from the real world?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:27 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

When Nvidia have to go into roman numerals (after 9 series.) I would love to have Narnia graphics rendered in real time now though.

I didn't think it looked overly big, I would say about 1" bigger than my 7800gt.

So this is the 360's GPU but a bit faster and dedicated 512mb's of ram, yeah?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:31 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
how long do yoy think it will be before graphics become indistinguishable from the real world?
Possibly two generations from now, look at the 360, it looks ALMOST real, next gen will look even more real, and at last, the next one WILL be real
d00dwheresmycar is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I'm tellin ya, one of these dang days it's gonna look like you have two PC's but in reality the 2nd box will be purely for graphics. It's gonna wind up needing it's own power supply, be the size of a freakin motherboard, maybe swappable GPUs and memory and crap and cost $2000 easily and connect via a high speed port that has yet to be invented
Actually one of the new things being invented is microtechnology, look at that iPOD video, they managed to fit 60 Gigs of hard drive space into a little hard drive. 60 Gigs is more memory than my old computer had, and a computer's hard drive that is 40 Gigs is about maybe 10x larger than the iPODS
__________________

d00dwheresmycar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.