ati radeon or nvidia - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Default ati radeon or nvidia

for intel p4 HT computers, which is better ? ati radeon x200 series 256mb or the nvidia 6300 +(and up) series ?
is ati radeon better for amd computers?

thanks
__________________

faith4 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Both are Integrated options, which are not good for gaming. Are you looking at purchasing a new desktop?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I used to be a major NVidia fanboy. I don't know why, I just was. But lately NVidia is just headng downhill...ATi is smoking it. It's sad how one ATI X1900XTX almost beats two 7900GT's.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Nvidia is still working with its older NV40 technology, while ATI has all new technology. The R600 looks to be better than the G80 from what I've seen. On the flipside, ATI's drivers are generally worse than Nvidia's.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Default

yes, iam planing on buying a new computer, and the computer is a intel with that ait radeon graphics card.
so is radeon better on amd's or doesnt matter which processor it is ?
and why is integrated not good for gaming ?
faith4 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Integrated graphics are not good for gaming at all. They use CPU power and RAM for the graphcs and aren't powerful enough to even keep up with the budged graphics cards.

And don't buy a name brand PC. Build it yourself or have it built for you. You will get ripped off if you go name brand.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!

welcome back Beedubaya

don't suppose you have any idea the sorts of things that were being said while you were absent. well great to see you back even if i did almost have a heart attack seeing your name.

i pretty much agree completely with Beedub's last post but if you must go with a prebuild the 6300 would be better than x200
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Is it a new computer? If so, just don't buy it. Pentium 4 w/ HT sucks, so incredibly slow....
The General is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I perfer to buy an nVidia (eVGA) card simply because you can overclock and replace the HSF without ruining their lifetime warranty.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Another problem with pre-builts is they put in very weak PSUs. Usually, they can't support a high end graphics card. I dont know if they still do it this way, but they used to build the case so only their proprietary PSU would fit, ruining any chance of upgrading.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.