ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 04:55 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

anyone catch this:

it looks like it's a bit choppy on cod4 at that 2560x1600 with AA.....

I don't play at crazy high resolutions so i don't know if that's normal, but i feel it should be a bit better.
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham View Post
anyone catch this:

it looks like it's a bit choppy on cod4 at that 2560x1600 with AA.....

I don't play at crazy high resolutions so i don't know if that's normal, but i feel it should be a bit better.

Since I am limited to 1440X900 I am not going to worry about it..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:42 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham View Post
anyone catch this:

it looks like it's a bit choppy on cod4 at that 2560x1600 with AA.....

I don't play at crazy high resolutions so i don't know if that's normal, but i feel it should be a bit better.
Are you kidding me? lol. Any gpu would struggle at such an insane resolution, not to mention AA. Even a GTX or Ultra would be choppy.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 08:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

................that one has my name written all over it.

i cant wait to get one. Good 3DMark06 score too.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 08:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

I'm excited ATI is going to be able to compete with Nvidia again is all. They have been in the dump forever.

.... that is if the 9800 gx2 doesn't blow it away, but based on the technology it looks like it won't.
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 08:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

n00bish question, will these work in Skulltrail? and if so how mnay? well actually just how many.
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

did they say how much AA they were using???

cuz the game only allows 4... and if its that choppy at 4xAA at that res.. for a dual gpu.. thats bad

i know for sure dual 8800gtx's and gts g92 don't look that bad at 2560x1600 w/ 4xAA... for their sake.. i'm hoping its not 4

i mean.. for my single gtx at 1920x1200 and 4xAA i don't think i ever drop below 60fps.. i'll back that up when i get home just to confirm...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:33 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
n00bish question, will these work in Skulltrail? and if so how mnay? well actually just how many.
actually Skulltrail supports both SLi and Crossfire... check out Osiris' post about it...

EDIT: Intel Skulltrail with SLI and Crossfire Support

but its not 4 PCI-e slots like the 40ghz PC guy said
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

THX

LOL@40Ghz guy
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:39 AM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: ATI Radeon HD3870 X2 Benchmarks

dam...17k.....i'f this card can beat out a 9800GX2 by a large margin i think i will pick up two of these and really fulfill my maximus's destiny
__________________

__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1680x1050 resolution external LCD monitor with ATi MOBILITY RADEON 9000 IGP? ben259 Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-11-2008 06:05 PM
Guitar Hero III Preacher PC Gaming 74 01-10-2008 04:08 PM
Images Leaked of the AMD Radeon HD 3450, HD 3470 and HD 3650 veg1992 System Upgrades 2 12-23-2007 05:57 PM
Laptop Video Cards Whirlwind Laptops and Notebooks 5 12-17-2007 12:46 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.