ATI with a Nvidia chipset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default ATI with a Nvidia chipset

How well does an ATI card really work on a mobo wiht a Nvidia chipset? With AM2 ATI northbridge mobos in very short supply I wanted to know.
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

They work the same if not better together.

The drivers don't allow for Crossfire for Nvidia hardware ( dual cards )
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

I know that, but honestly I see little gain form SLI crossfire anyway.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Nvidia's forceware chips are very good. they have no problems with either brand of video card.

I think the ATI cards actually work better on Nforce4 chips than on ATI chips, appart from crossfire that is...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.