ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2009, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Default ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

Yeah, I got a evga 680i board right now, going to buy single Sapphire 4890 Vapor-X .

Also I am going to get 1000w Corsair, and GIGABYTE EP45-UD3P later for crossfire.

I know you can put a single ATI card in a nvidia board but it will not function at its full potential right? or am I trippin?
__________________

EnToxication is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

it doesnt matter what mobo you put it in, wont make a difference.

and you dont need a 1000w corsair for xfired 4890's. the 750w will be plenty.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

Yha agree with Muffy... 1000w is overkill.. a decent 750 is plenty.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

Up until the other day I was running a ATI 3850 on a Nvidia nF4 board, no problems.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

The card will work fine, and the power supply is total overkill. Depending on the stats of your rig you should be set with a 650W or 700W PSU. However if you want to get a good ballpark estimate you can use Newegg's power supply calculator.

Newegg - Power Supply Calculator
xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

^ That egg calculator is not right at all. It tells me i need 200W more than I use.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 04:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
^ That egg calculator is not right at all. It tells me i need 200W more than I use.
They state that it is a recommended amount, not the exact amount that you use. They add wattage to make sure you have enough. However when I used it, it came about 45 watts more than I use. And if you don't trust the calculator, then you can just try to estimate everything. I do believe most things on Newegg show their power consumption.
xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

I run my set up just fine with the 550, I agree with either a 650 or 750 for sure.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

Yea im never sure about psu recommendations either.

I recently bought a kill a watt(watt meter) device and plugged my computer into it (e8400, 8800gt, 3 hdd's ect.) and the watts from the wall at load playing TF2, was 240W. Much lower than i anticipated.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: ATI on a Nvidia board. And new PSU

^ run it full load, you'll find A big jump.. but still less than recommended..
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.