ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2009, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
askquest1on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 105
Default ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

ive been told that the hd3850 would just bottleneck my computer was wondering if the hd3650 would be a better idea with my spec.
AMD sempron 2.00ghz CPU
2gb ram DDR PC3200
300watt PSU (planning on buying one with my video card)
current video card: ATI9200
__________________

askquest1on is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

I've seen your other post about this and ur misusing the term bottleneck again.
Bottlenecking means something is holding you back. An analogy is, you and a friend are running together and you have to stay together. You can run 20mph, but you're friend can only run 15 mph, in order to stay together you both run at 15mph. Youre friend would be bottlenecking you because you have the potential to run 20mph.

So with your situation. The hd3850 has the potential to run at a given performance, but your cpu needs to be fast enough to keep up. In your case it may not be, therefore your cpu will be holding back the potential capabilities of you gfx card. The cpu is bottlenecking the potential of the gfx card. Not the other way around.
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

LOL. at first i thought it was a joke or something, a 3850 would bottleneck a sempron@2ghz, and a 3650 better than a 3850? But thanks for clarifying bkolk.

Anyways, if prices are similar, go for the 3850. I don't know what prices you're looking at, but maybe a 4670 may be more appropriate as its more powerful than both of those and quite cheap. $65 at newegg. Unless of course you're looking at sub $50 prices, then maybe your options are better.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
askquest1on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 105
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

BUMP so was wondering which video card would be the best option for my computer spec?
askquest1on is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
I don't know what prices you're looking at, but maybe a 4670 may be more appropriate as its more powerful than both of those and quite cheap
He didnt mention it here, but i believe in his other post he specified it had to be agp.

Of the 3850 or 3650, prices are similar enough to go with the 3850.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 12-02-2009, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

ah yes, didn't catch that.. he's upgrading from an ati9200, so it must be agp.

In that case yes, get the 3850!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-02-2009, 10:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: ATI hd3650 or hd3850 for this spec.

to be honest I would just save the money that you would spend on a GPU and PSU and put it towards a new system... It isn't very cost efficient to upgrade an AGP system at this point.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
AMD ATI Radeon HD 5970 Video Card Muffin Man New Technology and Products 13 11-24-2009 08:38 AM
ATI Catalyst 9.2 Released Fat.Clown New Technology and Products 17 03-01-2009 01:27 AM
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
Rockstar reveals GTA4 patch details, ATI Catalyst 8.12 release Dec 10th Wildside PC Gaming 4 12-11-2008 03:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.