ATI graphics card work alright with BFG mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default ATI graphics card work alright with BFG mobo?

Alright, so today I bought the BFG 680i SLI mobo from Compusa. Ill be getting the CPU soon, its going to be a core 2 duo E6400.
But heres my question.
I have a PCI-E graphics card, I think my friend said it was a radeon x700, but im really not sure which one it is. Ill find out eventualy and download the drivers for it. So will these work alright together? I assume they will but want to make sure.

also another thing tha is concerning me. The case I bought comes with a 500 Watt PSU. Everyone is saying not to use PSU's that come with cases, but I don't really want to have to spend money on another one! What do guys think?
its this one.
http://www.dynexproducts.com/pc-276-...se--black.aspx

thank you
__________________

undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Im using a 450watt that came with my case works fine for me but i do plan on upgrading soon.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cdub89
Im using a 450watt that came with my case works fine for me but i do plan on upgrading soon.
I think it would work, but people were saying that cases that come with PSU's were bad, and if they go out, they could possible take a mobo or graphics card with it! And I really don't want my BFG 680i SLI going bye bye
undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by undergrounddlz
I think it would work, but people were saying that cases that come with PSU's were bad, and if they go out, they could possible take a mobo or graphics card with it! And I really don't want my BFG 680i SLI going bye bye
It depends, some are good. However, the one in that case is horrible and you shouldn't use it.

Its the most important part of the computer (as you know) since it can destroy other components.

Make sure you know which kind of Graphics card you are getting so you know how much power you're going to need.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
It depends, some are good. However, the one in that case is horrible and you shouldn't use it.

Its the most important part of the computer (as you know) since it can destroy other components.

Make sure you know which kind of Graphics card you are getting so you know how much power you're going to need.
Thank you for letting me know that. At first I was thinking since its 500 Watts its good. Boy was I wrong. oh well, iv already spend over 1000$ on my parts, whats wrong with throwing another 150 or so into it.

Im probibly going to get this one. Its looks like the real deal.
http://www.bfgtech.com/power_supply_650W.html

on sale at compusa

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...V_Power_Supply

same brand as motherboard, so that would most likeing ensure good compatibibly with each other. Its a good PSU isen't it?
undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

bfg is a trusted reliable company, however i haven't had any experience with their psu's or heard much about them. a few suggestions:
1) that psu is a little overkill, a 450w should do you fine, especially for a x700.
2) you could snag a cheaper, probably more reliable psu from newegg such as http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default

thanks for the info. I will need to wait another 2 weeks to get the monet for my Core 2 Duo and this new PSU anyways.
__________________

undergrounddlz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.