ATI Crossfire setup, im confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2008, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default ATI Crossfire setup, im confused

I just bought two 4870's and was wondering, how exactly do i hook both of the cards up with a single vga cable. then i started watching videos and there is supposedly a special split Y cable that is able to plug into the two cards and then one goes back to the monitor. Where do i find this cable?!?!?!?

Asus Maximus Extreme
Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.4GHz
DDR3 1600 9-9-9-25
750W PSU

3dMark06: 1024x768 no AA=16808
1280x1024 AAx8 Anisotropicx16= 7803
xbox122501 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
NightSurge's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: ATI Crossfire setup, im confused

You don't need a splitter cable. You just use the CrossfireX bridge connector to connect both cards and plug one VGA cable into ONE card (the top card). Then turn on your computer and make sure you go to the Catalyst Control Center to enable your Crossfire mode.

This must be connected to the top of both cards:
Like this:

Finished product:
See, just one VGA/DVI cable


If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI Crossfire setup, im confused

Crossfire supports Dual-Video Setup when enabled unlike SLi, just plug in both Monitors on the top most card like Surgevel said
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: ATI Crossfire setup, im confused

The Y cable is oldschool crossfire. It just uses bridges like SLI does now.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 09:24 PM
dual-boot partition setup darkop16 Linux and Open Source 28 12-30-2007 06:40 PM
Laptop Video Cards Whirlwind Laptops and Notebooks 5 12-17-2007 11:46 AM
Crossfire Question with X1950XT Ethereal_Dragon New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-25-2007 12:30 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.