ATI Crossfire MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2005, 09:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default ATI Crossfire MOBO

Hello again,

Thinking of an ATI Crossfire MOBO so I can have 2 vid cards running. I have a X800 Radeon and was thinking of getting a new X1800 .. would these be compatable or do they need to be simular to run together ?

I know 2 X800s would but not sure if 2 different models will ...
__________________

TermyBGL is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Knowing nothing of the Crossfire mobo, there's only one way to find out. Buy it, and try it.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Default

hey,

That i am aware of, both crossfire and SLI technology only allows you to put 2 of the SAME card in, i also believe that the same brand must be placed in, therefore only 2 X 1800XL's or 2 EVGA 7800GTX's would run, having 2 different model cards would bring about all sorts of combatibility issues, hope this helps.
GhOsT is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I thought you are able to mix and match different cards, but if you match an X1800 up with an X800, the X1800 will only run at the speed of the X800 and only have the features of it as well. Or am I wrong?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Hmmm, im not sure, because isnt the architecture of all cards diffferent and therefore run differently, and also...if it did run at the lowest cards settings and what not, then purchasing the better card is a waste........that i am aware of you are only able to use 2 of the same cards.
GhOsT is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 10:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you would need like an X800 card then the X800 crossfire edition card something like that i thought
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Thanks for all your quick replies .. thinking about it I am guessing maybe having 2 simular cards (x800) would be the sensible thing, knowing they work.

Also maybe paying that much less on a slightly older card (2nd x800) would be better then paying out extra $$$ for the top notch model seeing how combined they might even produde better results.

Thankyou all for your very helpful replies.
TermyBGL is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

WEll last time i heard ATI was going to make Crossfire better than SLI by letting you use 2 different type of cards simultaneously. I remember this right here in these forums when the other guys where talking about it along w/ mods. If not, then if you can afford an X1800 then get 2 X850s or something just in case im wrong.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Yes, just found something on ATI's site about 800 and 850 being compatable with all other 800 series, and, from what I understand you need 1 crossfire edition card and 1 compatable. So I have a compatable 800 and this new X1800 is supposed to be crossfire. (Newsest so wasnt included in the list)

So from what I've read today these 2 WILL be compatable with a crossfire MOBO... also had a FAQ about different speeds of the video cards. Says they will both run at their own speed, so I guess it looks good for ATI and my $$$.

Correct me if I'm wrong ... I'm new to crossfire/sli.
TermyBGL is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
To build your own latest generation multi-GPU system, start with any existing Radeon® X800 or Radeon® X850 graphics card and a CrossFire Ready motherboard, such as those based on the ATI Radeon® Xpress 200 CrossFire chipset. Then add a Radeon CrossFire Edition co-processor board and plug in the external cable to unite multi-GPU power.
thats all i can find on the ATi webiste about crossfire hmm
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.