ATI cards run better with AMD cpus???? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2008, 06:14 AM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

yeah nosboost ur were not wrong. hes further into the game and even with 790mhz core / 1100 memory he gets about 20-25. on v high. but he still wants to play it like that, the motion blur makes it more plauseable
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:58 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
not bad at all... game gets super intense later on though.. i dread the most graphically demanding parts... for any card
Ya I got there.. where it would just crash.. or have like 1-3 FPS... then I just said screw it and started playing COD4 haha.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 09:18 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

I heard an interesting thing regarding why crysis performed so crappy on the cards out at the time over at XS.

When crysis was in progress, the 8800gtx was just released. And usually the GPU market is fast moving, so the makers of crysis just saw this awesome card, the gtx, and they assumed that way way more powerful cards would be out by the time crysis was done.

Well we all know how long the 8800gtx was on top for, like 2 years? So, you can't really blame them for thinking that the 10800gtx would be out by then . This theory is replaces the "zomg crysis is crappily coded" **** that flys around the interwebs.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 10:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I heard an interesting thing regarding why crysis performed so crappy on the cards out at the time over at XS.

When crysis was in progress, the 8800gtx was just released. And usually the GPU market is fast moving, so the makers of crysis just saw this awesome card, the gtx, and they assumed that way way more powerful cards would be out by the time crysis was done.

Well we all know how long the 8800gtx was on top for, like 2 years? So, you can't really blame them for thinking that the 10800gtx would be out by then . This theory is replaces the "zomg crysis is crappily coded" **** that flys around the interwebs.
but it's ridiculous to release a game that cant even run on the latest hardware! My HD 3870 x2 is better then the 8800GTX but doesnt run the game at max at all or even high.

if a development team cant utilize graphics cards like Crytek when Crysis came out, then why bother releasing the game at all if they knew it was gonna run crap on all cards??? I'm so surprised Crysis even reached the 1 million mark in sales. Completely ridiculous.

EDIT:

60 fps is the ideal goal for me for running PC games. If i cant, i will still accept 40-50 fps. My CPU is still choking my GPU too, so i most likely will hold off buying the HD 4870 x2 like i always wanted to.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:28 PM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

meh, 3870x2 doesnt perform better than the 8800gtx in crysis... crysis hates r600 and rv600 series cards
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
meh, 3870x2 doesnt perform better than the 8800gtx in crysis... crysis hates r600 and rv600 series cards
Pretty much all AMD cards, I mean that demo called any ATi card Integrated lol...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

the r(v)7 series cards seem to do awesomely in crysis
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:48 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Thats true, the HD 4800's seem to do good, thats what I meant by pretty much...

I got to start overclocking the HD 3200 a bit more though... 10-30FPS average, and in the later levels its 1-3 FPS is killing me, and now on Vista its 5-15FPS on the earlier, or it just crashes sometimes, I haven't bothered to try the Mountain Level again
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:55 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

once i get my gtx280 (more than likely this week) i'll ship you my x1900xtx.. promise

i can trust you'll send payment when you can
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 10:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

hmm..............idk, i want to keep my card still until i get 45nm Phenom. Crysis looks fun, it just wasnt very playable on my computer thx to my CPU. Anything higher then 30 fps average on my machine i will accept, which is Crysis only lol.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HJT Log - Definite Spyware... Probably mcovalt HijackThis Logs (finished) 2 08-01-2008 08:20 AM
first run of HiJack on Vista ApolloIV HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 04-29-2008 08:09 AM
hacked by godzilla glasgowdude Viruses, Spyware and Malware 17 03-30-2008 01:52 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Spyware Alert beach276 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 10-01-2007 11:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.