ATI cards run better with AMD cpus???? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2008, 11:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
Ya that is what i was thinking. Looks like a custom build to me. Would be really rude if it isn't a prebuilt.
i can agree, i dont see anything hinting for it to be prebuilt.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 11:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i see an overclock.. and a raidmax case.. i'm not getting prebuild from this
I think Cyberpower PC's allow both, but it just seems that this was just copied from DirectX Information on the Rig (which explains the Round on the 2.66 Ghz to 2.7 Ghz)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 10:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pencilveinya
Posts: 42
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

I built it, i'm not sure where prebuilt came from, well i have SP2 i just quickly copied that from my xfire profile didn't really check. Yeah but i think i'm defiantly going to get the hd 4870 i might just wait a few days cause a rebates bound to spring up sometime. Oh and isn't there a new version of the 4870s coming out or something?
cylon is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 02:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Ooh I thought of another reason why whomever said that is lying...

Intel and ATi work together fine because most P35/P45/X38 boards only support Crossfire
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 08:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

the chipset doesnt effect the video card what so ever? Wtf........i thought my 790FX does something with it......
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 08:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Just if you want two HD 3870X2's or any ATi card then you'd need that 790fx
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

ya.... only time you should consider chipset as a major thing...

is for overclocking, and for sli/crossfire support

chipsets for the most part... will only give you slight variation in gaming performance.. slight being .5-2fps...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

i sold my 680i system to my friends as he now has a nice 4870 running crysis on very high (19" widescreen/1440x900) about avg of 30 frames. he insists playing on very high and not high xD
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-03-2008, 09:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

not bad at all... game gets super intense later on though.. i dread the most graphically demanding parts... for any card
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 10:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: ATI cards run better with AMD cpus????

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
i sold my 680i system to my friends as he now has a nice 4870 running crysis on very high (19" widescreen/1440x900) about avg of 30 frames. he insists playing on very high and not high xD
Crysis was horribly incompatible to any card out on the market, stupid Crytek. I wonder how they got to work it on their workstations during development.

hmm............maybe someone should benchmark Crysis on a Quadro n see if we get better performance on those cards instead????? OMG THAT WOULD BE SO FUNNY!!!!! The news would be all over the internetz!
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HJT Log - Definite Spyware... Probably mcovalt HijackThis Logs (finished) 2 08-01-2008 08:20 AM
first run of HiJack on Vista ApolloIV HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 04-29-2008 08:09 AM
hacked by godzilla glasgowdude Viruses, Spyware and Malware 17 03-30-2008 01:52 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Spyware Alert beach276 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 10-01-2007 11:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.