ATI Card -> Nvidia chipset? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default ATI Card -> Nvidia chipset?

Is it ok to run an ATI card in an Nvidia chipset?

hardware in question would be an ati 1900xtx -> nforce 410
__________________

Gewgulbawt is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, Nvidia made their chipsets to work well with all video cards, not just their own.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes. Though the nForce 410 is one of their lower end chipsets.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

hey a chipset is a chipset... as long as it works
... but are u guys sure there wouldnt b any compatability issues?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 02:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Not a one.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
hey a chipset is a chipset... as long as it works
... but are u guys sure there wouldnt b any compatability issues?
the ATI chipsets are only really designed for ATI cards and crossfire
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Yeah, I run an ATI x1900xt on an Nvidia Nforce4 chipset and it runs fine.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.