Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2007, 03:25 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

i think we've finally hit the wall for clock speeds, just ten years again we had 50-300MHz processor and it used to increase at a startling rate...but within the last year or two that just isn't the case anymore...i dont think we'll ever see a processor over 4.0GHz stock, not until a couple more years...everyone wants the efficient/multi core processor
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:29 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

DOnt talk that way i want to see at least a 100ghz processor before i die.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeonģ X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 05:15 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

the clock speed of a cpu does not mean anything. it depends on the techiology and arcitechture of the chip.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:47 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
the clock speed of a cpu does not mean anything. it depends on the techiology and arcitechture of the chip.
correct, have u guys not net AMD chips???

have u not seen core 2 duo chips???

this isn't ole Pentium 4 and Pentium D days, now is the time of the core 2 duo, the amd x2 and the core 2 quad
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:48 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

lmao at the hammer to inetl and the karate-chop, and lmao at the stop
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:53 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

lol what?
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:11 PM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

thats mc hammer, vernong...before your time homie...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:19 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfeyes89 View Post
DOnt talk that way i want to see at least a 100ghz processor before i die.
IBM have already made 500GHZ.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 12:35 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
IBM have already made 500GHZ.
true..... but its a matter of seeing it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-18-2007, 12:36 PM   #30 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Athlon X2 6000+ not that much slower than E6600 for 50 bucks less

It wasn't exactly a processor, was it? It was just a semi-conductor chip?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e6600 or 64 X2 6000 soupman New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-10-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.