Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2007, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

That motherboard should be fine
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

Sweet! I think I'm gonna go ahead and buy the 5000+... What heatsink/fan do you guys recommend (it doesn't come with one)? Also, will there be a noticeable difference in gaming?
__________________

jpfan18 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

Arctic Freezer Pro64
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

I would use some of the money you are saving toward a good heatsink...something better than the Arctic Freezer 64, which isn't that great of a cooler.

Get a Tuniq Tower

As for a difference in games it depends which ones. If they are multithreaded then you should notice quite a large difference (most newer games like UT3, Crysis....)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

or a zalman cnps9500. i use it and it works well. i think an afp would be okay for that chip...it wont get too hot. plus, you can raise the multiplier and likely not have to even give it more voltage to clock it that high. maybe a little. but probably not much. yes, gamning difference...games wont use 100% of your cpu(s).
overclocking is easy. the nf4 chipset in that mobo overclocks well.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

plus with the 5000+ Black Edition.. its just a matter of Multiplier increasing..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 05:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

Brisbane for the win!
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 05:22 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

but Barcelona are Opteron Server processors...

u mean Agena's?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 05:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
but Barcelona are Opteron Server processors...

u mean Agena's?
Meant brisbane
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz)

Ahh.. yes.. I personally hate Windsors.... 90nm... EWWW for a modern generation Dual-Core Processor!!!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.