athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2008, 11:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

Actually, I didn't think that

e1200
Newegg.com - ECS G33T-M2 LGA 775 Intel G33 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Cheap 2gb Kit
Xclio Goodpower 500
and reuse HD, Optical Drives from your old build..

not too shabby...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 11:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Actually, I didn't think that

e1200
Newegg.com - ECS G33T-M2 LGA 775 Intel G33 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Cheap 2gb Kit
Xclio Goodpower 500
and reuse HD, Optical Drives from your old build..

not too shabby...
still need an operating system though...

also... even with that cheapo build you got there... how much would 4 GB of ram matter over 2 ??

doesn't look like the guys is getting back to me tonight though...

But if the mobo does support 939 or am2 , that means I can upgrade to a "more better" processor correct ?? maybee 6500 or whatnot?

I'll have to check and see if its worth it.........
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 12:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

I have never heard of a dual core 3400+. A you sure your specs are right? I had am Athlon 64 3400+ 2 machines ago and it was definitely not dual. Either way any old s939 chip is a bottleneck and you should be looking to a new cpu, mobo and ram.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

Hyperthreading isn't dual core, that athlon 3500+ is single core...
immy3 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

3600x2 was the lowest dual core for amd

and i thought 6400 was amd's highest cpu..

and 5000+ black edition would be a better investment.. its cheaper.. and overclocks very nicely

if its socket 939 the best cpu you can get would be the 4400x2 or the 4800x2.. seeing as those are the only cpu's w/ the 1mb x 2 cache's.. all the rest were 512mb x 2 cache
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

What about the Opteron 16x -18x series ^^ gotta love those opty's

and HTT was only on Intel P4's so he's lying, but technically immy it does act virtually like a dual-core because if you check out like Task Manager it shows as dual-core
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

ok its got a asus A8N-E MOBO ... so its 939 socket type.
I can throw a Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego 2.4GHz on there, and the 8800gts and have a pretty good computer for less than 400 bucks... right ???

or would it even be worth it...........
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

nope... thats hardly an upgrade from an A64 3500+

look for an Opteron 165 or Opteron 180's on eBay
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

i guess 939 socket is a dieing breed eh?

I'm prolly just gona search ebay for a newer rig with at least am2 and ddr2 memory...
illnastyimpreza is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: athlon 64 3500 a bottleneck for 8800gts ??

You're so not getting a good AM2 System for $200
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my cpu going to bottleneck a 8800gt? dario03 Overclocking and Modding 3 03-07-2008 05:25 PM
Will OCing get me through a bottleneck? revinant99 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 11:55 PM
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM
Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (3.0gHz) or Athlon 64 X2 6400+ (3.2GHz) jpfan18 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 11-22-2007 06:07 PM
WTB: Athlon XP 2600+ or 2800+ (266MHz FSB) Kubel Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-12-2007 03:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.