ASUS v DFI - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 05:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by adam02
Err..i use corsair value select in my DFI ultra-D

So you might wanna know what your talking about.

EDIT: That Gskill will work very well on DFI's. I dont know why you want the SLI-Expert.
I would recommend to you Get the Ultra-D and that Gskill and get a very good single solution card. SLI is not great value.
No crap, it's not like the value select won't work, point blank. What he GR was saying is that on average, the memory is usually very unstable and doesn't like to cooperate well with DFI boards.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 202
Default

DFI makes a fine board. I am using the ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe and it has been superb. Almost bought the DFI but wasn't going to overclock and I am big on Corsair memory.

If you choose the ASUS, rethink the memory and try the memory ASUS built this board for. The Corsair 3500LLPRO. Spendy, but it runs flawlessly @ DDR437 2-3-2-6, which are stock settings.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...e=pricegrabber
__________________

bryan64 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 06:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

asus, cause the silent heatpipe and it oc's as well as the dfi.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 06:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Running
asus, cause the silent heatpipe and it oc's as well as the dfi.
yeah.........um.......thats wat makes DFI better, cause it OCs better!.....and the tweaking of the Bios n shiz like that.........
john3 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 06:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

alright guys im prettty sure that im gonna go w/ the ultra-d like i had planned in the first place...i was just wondering...are they still sli moddable
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

good job, Cutose, or however you spell it.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Yes, its a little harder, but still possible.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

and about the modding to SLi, i read that on DFI Street that all you need to do is rub harder to get through the epoxy, and thats pretty much it. or you can use something else to get through the epoxy, i heard someone say on that site that he used acetone.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

yea but its pretty pointless, cos ur gunna have to buy an SLI bridge, so it will add up to more than the SLI-d and you also void your warantee if you do that mod, its only really if you bought the Ultra-d and wanted SLI without buying a new board. so if u want SLI, get the SLI D.

Yo sorry for attacking u about the corsair value select thing, i just assume if a set of corsairs work on mine, any set can work on all DFI, just thought you meant no corsair work. Oh yea another cool thing about DFI, if you get stuck or if somethings not working, you can ask directly at DFI street to the engineers and they can help you no probs at all.
adam02 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

well when you buy a Sli-d AND an sli bridge, it CLEARLY adds up to more, so i see no difference.

"technically" it will void your warranty, but what genius actually looks at the 2 tiniest things on the motherboard, or that can find it by pure speculation, or even no where to look. if your worried about voiding your warranty, dont be, they cant tell, they only notice some major changes.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.