Asus P5n Sli - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2007, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default Asus P5n Sli

Alright, I'm using onboard sound, the headphone jacks in the front and the back work great, I have no complaints about those, but the microphone jack in the back doesn't work. The one in the front works great so that rules out a driver/setting/microphone problem. Now I'm just wondering how to fix this. Will I have to send it back for a new one or is there possibly a wire disconnected(I had a couple of those I had to fix) or is it just crappy hardware that I'll have to RMA.

Also, my computer idles at 20 degrees C according to t he gauges on the front of the computer. Is that fine for an idle temp cuz I really dont wanna spend extra on zalman stuff yet.
__________________

cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default

The answer to your former question is the board might have a defective headphone jack - s*** happens. To your latter, that is a great idle temperature so you do not need an aftermarket heatsink.
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default

so there's nothing I can do about it? they will replace it, right? cuz I can't always run my headphones thru the front as I have to keep my door open for that and then it's in the way.
cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

EDIT: I thought you meant the front didn't work, and yea if the back jack doesn't work then it's possible it could be deffective. I would just buy a cheap card such as this ( I have it)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102002

You won't have to RMA the board and then you will have a big upgrade from onboard. I thought the onboard on my Biostar 965PT would be fine but after I tried it...it sucked bad and I had to take this out of my old computer and use it.

Otherwise RMA the board or call them first.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default

I had it built by a company, how could I check the jumpers?
cementshoes is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Check my edit above I thought you meant the front jacks did not work. The back jacks should work as soon as the board is connected right.


EDIT: Jumpers are small connectors inside that go from the front jacks/usb to little pins on the motherboard. I believe they only affect the front ports though.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.