ASUS issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2007, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default ASUS issue

I bought this motherboard about 6 months ago.

Newegg.com - ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

and just got around to tinkering with the OCing program that comes with the motherboard. and I will be damned if I get it as high as 220 and I get the screen we all know and love.. the blue screen of death. and then the computer will go into a reboot loop and I have to go into bios and change everything back to default.. for this being an award winning mobo shouldn't have a little more give than that... I mean I had an Epox mobo that went up to 265 with only a 9x multiplier. if anyone has any input on why this is acting up like this please let me know.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: ASUS issue

RAM issue possibly, what brand you are using?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: ASUS issue

Corsair
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: ASUS issue

I hadn't even started OCing my RAM yet ..
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: ASUS issue

^^ not neccisarilly( deff sp!) a ram ocing issue , are they on a divider?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 03:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: ASUS issue

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

wow and I bought these at $150.00 .. anyway.. they are at default settings
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: ASUS issue

Thats a good deal on RAM.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: ASUS issue

yes good deal... any input on my issue :P
__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: ASUS issue

you need to drop your ram speed to ddr2 677.
drop the HT multiplier to 4. when you get past 250mhz, you will need to drop it to 3.
probably before then you will need to drop your ram speed to 533.
as a matter of fact, i'd drop the ht to 3 and the ram to 533 to begin with and eliminate that from your stability issues.
that way you can max cpu/mobo nad not have to worry about ram or HT giving you problems. then overclock them later after you work out your cpu.
you may up the core voltage one notch also.
award-winning it may be, but that mobo/chipset is known to be a pretty weak overclocker. ehich is odd, because asus usually makes stellar overclocking hardware. my 8800gt doesnt OC all that well (not that it needs to). go figure.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
jspot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 169
Default Re: ASUS issue

after I get the CPU where I want it then start messing with the RAM what are the chances that it is going to go back into the reboot loop?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p117/jspot1012/AthlonX2-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>
jspot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI 8400GS + ASUS K8V-VM upgrade ohGrFreak System Upgrades 1 09-28-2007 09:53 AM
ASUS Announces Hardware Based Real-time Overclocking Device Osiris Overclocking and Modding 2 07-06-2007 11:44 AM
getting the Asus P5B Deluxe... pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-02-2007 01:53 PM
Gigabyte M61PM-S2 vs ASUS M2N-MX Javidon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:02 AM
Weird IE7 Issue reubix Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-02-2007 02:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.