ASPIRE X-Navigator ?Power Supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default ASPIRE X-Navigator ?Power Supply?

Hey im looking at this case with this power supply, its a ASPIRE X-Navigator and it comes with a 500 watt power supply. Ive had a aspire case with a 350 watt power supply for a long time now and many people told me it was a ****ty power supply but i have had it for almost 3 years now & no problems. So i can say i trust Aspire. But my question is this power supply good?

My system will include a 7900gt.

Heres the link, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144164

Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Go for companies like Antec, Thermaltake, FSP Group, OCZ, Enermax. Thats just a couple, theres more. Also look up the power supplies specs and see if it meets the requirements of your video card.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

Yeah, i would like to go with Antec but the Antec case w/power supply is like a $20 difference than the Aspire case w/power supply. I know Antec is very reliable. But i could really use that extra $20. I am on a tight budget on this one.
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok I looked up the specs on the power supply and a 7900 gt. I compared the cheapest 7900 gt on newegg by xfx which requires a 400w psu with 26a on the 12v rail. Your psu puts out 16a on one rail and 18a on the other. Now I dont think they combine to put out a total of 30a which would be more than enough so it definatly wouldnt work. The only think I personally know that can happen from a underpowered video card is horrible framerates. I would spend the extra $20 now and not have to spend $70 or more later for a decent powersupply good enough to handle that 7900 gt.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

wtf...

No video card requires 26 amps off one rail...

My system's psu pushes one 16 amp rail and one 17 amp rail on the 12v line
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

"A minimum 400W system power supply (with 12V current rating of 26A)" is what it says for the XFX 7900gt at this link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150144

Are you saying it combines both rails? Cool! My bad about last post then.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

So you do combine both rails? So it is a good power supply?
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

I love it when people cheap out on PSU's


and its even funnier when it blows up and takes evreything with it after 3 months:laughing:
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

No im not trying to ''cheap out'' on a psu CHIEF, im wanting to know if it is indeed a cheap psu. If so i will nto buy it. Sorry to steal your thunder.
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Its unatomous, dont get it. go for the companies I reccomended.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.