Asking for some help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2005, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default Asking for some help

I was wondering for some help. Im an amatuer in computer hardware and would like to piece my own computer together.

Right now I have a XPS Gen 4 from Dell, but have tinker around on other computers and know the basics of computer building. I know everything has to match, ie: sockets, pins, and what-not.

In this computer I have:

Bold is what Im looking to keep
Italics is what Im looking to not use in this new computer
Underlined is a possible use, possible not use, depending if I can or not.

PROCESSOR: PENTIUM 4 PRESCOTT DT, Pentium 4 Prescott DT, 3.4GHZ, 1 MEGB, 800FSB, SKT-T

CARD (CIRCUIT), PLANAR (MOTHERBOARD), TRANSFORMER SKY DIVE MINITOWER, XPS-G4, MID-LIFE KICKER (Have no clue, generic dell model is Im guessing)

COMPACT DISK READ WRITE, 48X32, IDE (INTEGRATED DRIVE ELECTRONICS), SAMSUNG, CHASSIS 2001, V2

ASSEMBLY, DVD+/-RW, 16X, HALF HEIGHT, PHILIPS, CHASSIS 2001

CARD (CIRCUIT), MULTI-MEDIA, AUDIO, 1394, SB0358

CARD (CIRCUIT), GRAPHICS, 256, X850, UHMGA12
X850 XT PE 256MB


FLOPPY DRIVE, 1.44M, 3.5" FORM FACTOR, 3MD, NO BEZEL, NEC CORPORATION, CHASSIS 2001

HARD DRIVE, 250GB, Serial ATA, 8MB, WD-XL80-2
Western Digital Serial ATA 250 GB


DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 512, 533M, 64X64, 8, 240, 1RX8

__________________________________________________
__________________________________________________

So far, these are the parts Ive been looking at, the few Im not sure on is the PSU and the mobo and ram, depending on the mobo.

Motherboard, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128247

Ram, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450

New HDD, will use the old one also but need more space. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144423

Power Supply, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008 Note: Not buying for 'flashyness' it has the best rating for power supplies on newegg.

Case, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154

New heatsink and fan, computer now, shuts off sometimes due to heat. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835185121

Im not so sure about the Motherboard, ram, and the powersupply. All help and advice will be appreciated, I also looked through those custom building threads but I would like some advice on certain parts, also if you think one of these parts isnt good enough and would like to suggest a new one, please do so, or need some more specifications just ask, Ill try to get those.

Also my budget is probably under 700.

Thanks.
__________________

ferris is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Sorry for the bump but, I'm looking to get this order placed ASAP because Im going to combine an order with a friend who also needs parts.

Sorry, :\.

EDIT: Im also thinking of changing cases as a fan controller I am looking to get will not fit with the front door... I think.
__________________

ferris is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

I don't know anything about intel motherboards so I can't help you there. You have a high-end system, so get more than 1 gig of ram. Get 2 of these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145018 I cant see how you would need more than 250 gbs that you already have :|, and if you do, I doubt even more that you need 400 gb's more. Thats your choice though. I would look for a power supply with a little more juice. a powerful cpu, graphics card, 2 hard drives and ram with LEDs is geting up there. Finally, I don't like that case but it is up to you. Just try to get an aluminum case. That helps with cooling SO much.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231039
Better deal, better brand and its DC.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Well, I use a lot of memory, I put a lot of fils on my computer. Mainly video files, lots of series of shows and such.

Also, this HDD is a long term investment for the . I have 83 gigs left of the 250 HDD, and I reformatted about 3 or 4 months ago and didnt back anything up so, yeah.

Also, sorry for bumping it, again.
ferris is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

G.Skill is NOT better ram. It is not bad ram, but it is not better.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 02:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Wth are you talking about? Ppl frmo XS hold world records on G.Skill ram, it is most deffinately better ram. Corsair is good, yes, but you pay so much for so little to work w/.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-08-2005, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Ive never heard of G.Skill. I know of Corsair, of course but not G.Skill, also Ive chosen a new case, I think Im going to go with a Armor case or maybe a Xaser.
ferris is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 05:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Im pretty sure Im going with this case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133154

And this PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155

EDIT: Whoops, my bad sorry for the double post.
EDIT2: Ok, so... I would like to get 2 gigs of ram, but Im trying to keep the cost down. Ive never heard of G.Skill, what is the quality?
ferris is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 05:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

G.Skill ram is very good quality and it oc's very well but if you aren't going to oc anything and want a good price get these, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145579
they are very stable and good for the money
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.