Asking For Media Recovery Disc? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2013, 12:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Asking For Media Recovery Disc?

It's because it is reading everything off one partition and copying to the other. On 5400RPM drives (Which usually come with these type of laptops) that can be painfully slow.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Asking For Media Recovery Disc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It's because it is reading everything off one partition and copying to the other. On 5400RPM drives (Which usually come with these type of laptops) that can be painfully slow.
That's most likely the reason, but that doesn't explain the reason why HP and Acer can recover their computers in only about 30 minutes lol.
__________________

Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Asking For Media Recovery Disc?

It just depends on the speed of the drive and the amount of data. Grab a 5400rpm drive (if you have one) and put 5-8GB of data on one partition and copy it to the other. If they are just copying Windows over and drives it'll probably be more like 3GB or so.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SCxnoxiousTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philippines
Posts: 156
Default Re: Asking For Media Recovery Disc?

Well , Performing the System Recovery does not require the Recovery CD , but this issue is kinda hard to tell because i was able to load the process but that error message comes up everytime i do that , but what is confusing me is that i can load the process but when i go trough it ask for the disc wich is not suppose to , i was doing this process for a long time and its only that 1st that i encounter this problem. well thanks for the info guys..
SCxnoxiousTechie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Asking For Media Recovery Disc?

yeah... tried to recover a 1 or 2 year old hp laptop recently (the MOST messed up laptop someone has brought to me...) and the recovery partition wanted a disc. said eff it, nuked the thing with my own win 7 64 disk and used the key on the bottom of the laptop. easy.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.