April 20 Price Drop? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2008, 11:19 PM   #31 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

So is the 6700 worth extra cash after the price cut?
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 03:21 PM   #32 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

In short, no. You can get more out of the 6600 for the price.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 04:43 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
Why even bother paying $40 more for an unlocked multi.. its not that much more OCing potential ^__^'
actually its just x10 multiplier, but I think it maybe worth it for people who don't like calculating while overclocking like me (if I ever got a q6700 lol) or Nosboost and if you don't want to be limited by a 9x multiplier
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 06:24 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

does that mean that if the Q6600 is at 4GHz and the Q6700 is at 4.4GHz it is has the same voltage, temperature, FSB, ect...
H2C-X is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 06:30 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

actually 4.440ghz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 06:34 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
actually 4.440ghz
actually...4.444ghz
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 06:58 PM   #37 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
actually...4.444ghz
No, a q6600 at 4ghz is a 444 FSB (x9 Multiplier), the same FSB x 10 for q6700 is 4440mhz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:50 PM   #38 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by H2C-X View Post
does that mean that if the Q6600 is at 4GHz and the Q6700 is at 4.4GHz it is has the same voltage, temperature, FSB, ect...
no. It just means that your FSB is lower or your clocks are higher. Its still going to take voltage on the cpu vcore. If anything at all it will help lower NB voltage. The higher multiplier helps out fsb limited mobo's. But at 400+ FSB any mobo can do that nowadays
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 09:55 PM   #39 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
No, a q6600 at 4ghz is a 444 FSB (x9 Multiplier), the same FSB x 10 for q6700 is 4440mhz
lol, owned
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 10:32 PM   #40 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: April 20 Price Drop?

u would need a 444.4 FSB to get 4ghz with q6600... u'd be off 4ghz by a little with 444
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.