Applying Thermal Compound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2009, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Applying Thermal Compound

Hi, I'll be getting my parts to build my new computer in a day or two. It's my first time building one myself and was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on putting on the processor, the heatsink, and the thermal compound (how much and how).

Mobo: ASUS P5Q Pro
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8400
Heatsink: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Thermal Compound: Arctic Silver 5
__________________

Nubbleet is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

i usually apply a half of peasized amount and then spread it around gently with a credit card until it is smooth and about as thick as a piece of paper. then once that's done i throw the heatsink on and i usually press down hard on the CPU (with the HSF not yet attached) and move it around to get rid of any air bubles that may have formed. once i am confident there are no bubbles i then firmly attach the heatsink to the board. and then i am ready for some EXTREME overclocking.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

i use
single core: dot method
dual core: line method
quad: x method

put the heatsink on with the mobo outside of the case (it is much easier)

apply the thermal past (depending on what method you use, for dot it should be a little smaller then a pea, for line it should be about 2mm thick and should go across the cpu but stay about 5mm away from the edges, for x the same thing as line except it over laps in the middle).
drop the cpu in the motherboard, and lock it in. push the heatsink down on it slightly, twist it a tad then lock it on. Make sure the thermal paste does not gush out over the cpu and on the motherboard when you put on the heatsink. IF that happens you put to much thermal paste and need to start over or clean it up a bit.

Don't spread the thermal paste, let the heatsink spread it out evenly. This ensures that the entire contact of the heatsink is even. If you spread it, it can leave thick spots or thin spots.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

Don't apply the AS5, The Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro comes with pre applied MX-2 thermal paste which is better.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

^perhaps we should also mention that tx-2 thermal paste is currently the best, But it comes with pre applied mx-2 so don't worry about it. Unless you doing some decent ocing it doesn't really matter.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

I always just use the dot method and then set the heatsink down on top; works for me.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

Thanks for all the replies guys. What about being grounded? I'm going to be working on a desk which is like wood. I heard that I should touch the metal part of the case every so often to cancel out the static? And should I put the RAM/Vid card in too before I put the mobo in the case or after?
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

yes, but when you do this make sure the PSU is pluged in to the wall, or else it wont work.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 09:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

yeah just touch a non painted part of the comp (case, psu, ect) every few mins or before you touch a new component. But the whole static thing is way over exagerated. I have never had a problem.

EDIT: Beat me to it philbar...

EDIT 2: It does not really matter if the psu is plugged in mate. The static charge will dissipate threw out the case leaving it harmless.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 09:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Applying Thermal Compound

You'll have to put the GPU in after you put the mobo in the case. RAM...its up to you.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermal Compound Gothch1ck Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-24-2009 02:09 PM
Cleaning Thermal Compound Daddio System Upgrades 8 12-13-2008 03:33 PM
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
Videos of applying thermal grease and heatsync IBM/PS1 New Systems | Building and Buying 28 01-19-2008 02:05 AM
removing thermal compound mode8power Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-16-2007 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.