Applying my MX2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2008, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Applying my MX2

im not totally sure how i should apply the AC MX-2 on my cpu. On their website they say one drop right in the center but in the picture it looks HUGE.
http://www.arctic-cooling.com/downlo...mx2_retail.pdf

Not sure if i should use this method but with a smaller bead, or if i should use the line method.

Also, I've got a quad so should applying it make a difference over dual cores?

Oh yeah, and am i supposed to let the paste dry or anything after the heatsink has been mounted?
__________________

Balishang is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Applying my MX2

The way I do it is I put some on the center of the chip like in the first pic. I then take a peice of cardboard, the kind like off a greeting card. Rip a small peice and I use that to spread the paste over the entire top of the chip. All you want to do is just lightly cover the chip with the paste.

First clean the surface by removing the old paste. Use rubbing alcohol to clean it and shine it up.

Next put a dap of paste in the middle of the chip.

Then spread it around and evenly coat the entire surface. You only need a thin amount.

Last you just need to put the heatsink on and your good to go.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Applying my MX2

Either method will work.

MX-2 is inert, so any excess will not cause a short. Even though it looks like a lot on their PDF, it will spread just fine. the twisting and seating of the heatsink will squeeze out what is not needed. I normally use this method, both with CPUs and GPUs.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Applying my MX2

i use a dot on the gpu, but spread it on the cpu. i dont know why. im a creature of habit.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 07:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lakeville, MN
Posts: 80
Default Re: Applying my MX2

IMO it seems like spreading it out with an edge seems superior than just putting a dot in the middle and twisting the heatsink. should i use that or the dot in the center method or does it not really matter? and do i need to give the paste some time to solidify before using the computer?
Balishang is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 07:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Applying my MX2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balishang View Post
IMO it seems like spreading it out with an edge seems superior than just putting a dot in the middle and twisting the heatsink. should i use that or the dot in the center method or does it not really matter? and do i need to give the paste some time to solidify before using the computer?
Well it's whatever seems to work for you. But you want a thin, even coat of it across the entire surface. And you don't have to worry about waiting before using it, by the time you close up the computer and plug it in again and boot, it'll be set.
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best technique for applying thermal paste? Mordred Overclocking and Modding 14 01-29-2008 01:39 PM
Videos of applying thermal grease and heatsync IBM/PS1 New Systems | Building and Buying 28 01-19-2008 02:05 AM
Applying paste to Athlon X2 Nick Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 12-25-2007 08:31 AM
Applying thermal paste Blitersety New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-13-2007 02:40 AM
Applying AC5 Waphlez New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-26-2007 08:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.