Anyone still uses floppy on a High End Gaming machine? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2008, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

3.5" Controllers | Page 1 | Sort By: Product Title A-Z - FrozenCPU.com *
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 05:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

I have not used a floppy in over 9 years..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 06:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

i have used floppy's like once or twice in my life to transfer old files off a computer to a new one, but thats the extent of it.. if you're installing raid drivers, floppy's are the way to go. also if you're flashing bioses they are handy but unnecessary this day and age.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 06:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

i used a floppy drive to install my RAID 0 array a year ago on xp, after that i took it off. hopefully i won't have to do that with my nehalem system.
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 06:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

Theres all kinds of crap that can fit in a 3.5" bay
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 06:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Anyone still uses floopy on a High End Gaming machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueHeaven View Post
I put a floppy on my rig, I've used it once to transfer midi files from my pc to my digital piano. Thats about it. But, I think its a good thing to have, just in case all **** breaks loose and your floppy drive is your last resort.
That's what I got mine for. Plus for Memtest and flashing a bios. But i've never once used it for any of that.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Anyone still uses floppy on a High End Gaming machine?

I definitely would say keep it and put it in. It doesn't hurt to have one. A floppy drive will not mess with system performance, it only gets used when you actually access it, and only then does it use system resources.

I occasionally use it as a quick boot device, for quick file transfers (used it a lot in school because our high school wouldn't allow USB drives because they "were too risky for program stealing and viruses" [I think it was because the IT department was too lazy to actually bother with these things and just said "meh, whatever, just make it a rule"]).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:49 PM   #18 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Anyone still uses floppy on a High End Gaming machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
I definitely would say keep it and put it in. It doesn't hurt to have one. A floppy drive will not mess with system performance, it only gets used when you actually access it, and only then does it use system resources.
And the system resources it uses are next to nothing. Considering my first computer, an Intel 386 had one, they aren't a big deal.

Of course it also had a 5 1/4" if you really didn't like to use up resources .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Anyone still uses floppy on a High End Gaming machine?

Sound like top notch computer has them too So ill use it then.

Thanks for all your help.

Now I need to find a spot for these, since I dont think it uses an IDE nor a 4 molex connector. Meh only time will determine where everything goes.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 01:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pencilveinya
Posts: 42
Default Re: Anyone still uses floppy on a High End Gaming machine?

I heard chicks dig floppies....
__________________

cylon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTS: High End Stereo System KCRMYZ Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 01-25-2008 03:11 PM
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM
Wanting a High Performance Gaming Computer On A Budget Farmboy New Systems | Building and Buying 94 08-08-2007 10:46 PM
Win an AMD Dream Gaming Machine!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 05-08-2007 03:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.