Anyone running SAS harddrives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2008, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Anyone running SAS harddrives?

There's a pretty cheap SAS controller out there:
Newegg.com - PROMISE FastTrak TX2650 PCI Express SATA / SAS Controller Card RAID 0/1 JBOD - Controllers / RAID Cards

you can get a couple 15k rpm drives for cheap, comparable to raptors - open box or ebay.

Anyone run SAS harddrives or have any SAS harddrive benchmarks? If it can be done for the comparable price of a raptor then this might be the way to go...
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

don't bother. i have a couple that i used. they're really really really loud. like a whirring that gets really old really fast. but they are quite a bit faster in my experience with them over a 7200rpm drive with 16mb cache.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
don't bother. i have a couple that i used. they're really really really loud. like a whirring that gets really old really fast. but they are quite a bit faster in my experience with them over a 7200rpm drive with 16mb cache.
what kind were you using? I have a SAS drive on my workstation at work and I dont really notice it sound wise.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

some IBM Ultrastar's.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

I'm thinking of getting a Seagate 15k.6 drive
my K9A2 Platinum supports SAS without having to add an extra controller
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

Hey man i just spent the last 30 minutes searching vigorously for the decibel output of these SAS cards and ive come up with absolutely nothing! ive gone as far as getting that promise tx4650 manual and it has not one mention of decibel output. lame *** ****
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I'm thinking of getting a Seagate 15k.6 drive
my K9A2 Platinum supports SAS without having to add an extra controller
I was looking at that mobo too. Too bad its AMD, I'd like to build it around an Intel chip.

Look at the seagate savvios - supposedly "the fastest" 15k drives out there.

Or get a Fujitsu for cheap open box on the egg.

I am curious about the noise too. BUt like I said, I use them at work and I cant hear them over the fan. I'll pull off my case and see what brand they are.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Anyone running SAS harddrives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
I was looking at that mobo too. Too bad its AMD, I'd like to build it around an Intel chip.
I'm gonna stick with AMD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
Look at the seagate savvios - supposedly "the fastest" 15k drives out there.
I'm not sure, but I think the 15k.6 drives (which are very new) have just taken the lead
Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
Or get a Fujitsu for cheap open box on the egg.
yeah, I live in Australia though.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Request: Problems running WoW - why? Weavesy New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-07-2008 06:42 PM
Is my RAM running at the right speed? dipique Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-05-2008 02:39 PM
running two harddrives hail. New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-13-2007 08:46 PM
Am I running to hot? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 03:59 AM
XP running slow -CPU @100% 70%of the time! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 16 07-10-2007 07:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.