anyone running 8800gtx sli yet? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2006, 12:05 PM   #41 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

will do lol i think ive spammed and basically jacked this thread...




Edit:thanks inferno education does mean alot- it really does now i know more than when i entered this thread
__________________

keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 12:24 PM   #42 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by keyser09
will do lol i think ive spammed and basically jacked this thread...
But look, its not like you jacked it like other people do with endless meaningless, youve learned alot, so that is all important
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 06:50 PM   #43 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
it means they have a different approach towards processing graphics.. and not only that, its got quantum physics on it... no more need of your physics card... once games utilize this you'll see what the geforce 8 can really do
If there is quantum physics on the G80s, and no need of a physics card anymore.....then what is the 3rd PCI-e slot on the new nvidia chipset going to be used for?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:00 PM   #44 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

PhysX cards run on PCI
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:06 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

It could be if you wanted 6 monitors?
Or just an extra one, in case your other one breaks...
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:16 PM   #46 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

tri-sli perhaps??? seems like they're giong down a route with 2 two sli bridge connectors now... so 3 cards in sli?? crazy stuff
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:19 PM   #47 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

the 3rd pcie slot will be used for future physics cards from what ive read/seen
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:37 PM   #48 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

triple sli, new cards have 2 places for sli bridges.
Inferno is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:48 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Triple sli? wow what if you had a core2 extreme, 3 8800gtx's in SLI, and like 4 gigs of ram. Wow that computer would be amazing.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 07:55 PM   #50 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
the 3rd pcie slot will be used for future physics cards from what ive read/seen
ya, i've read the same, but it makes no sense to me... if each card already has quantum physics... and ram for the physics calculations... then what is the purpose...

maybe... the ram will turn into pure gpu ram... while the 3rd card will just be physics?? i'm a bit confused
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.