Anyone power supply savy ? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 10:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

but the corsair 520 is more than enough, it has a lot of amps on the dual 12v
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

These Corsairs usually cost at least $95. And they're great even at that price. So I'd say that qualifies as a lot of bang for the buck if you ask me..

Seriously though, it's a great power supply that'll last a long time even through plenty of upgrades. Unless you don't want to spend that much, I wouldn't get anything else. Although you really can't spend too much less and still get a decent one. $50 is pretty much the minimum unless you really want to cheap out..
__________________

__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

In Sig....
Click it...
(I think the amps "thing" was addressed fine.)
Ste is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

Okay after reading STE's sig link. Taking in alot of other variables. I'm running a very low power system, I just need a 12v rail that has a big enough kick in the @ss to keep my video cards head above water.

STE I noticed in your sig/link that Rosewill hasn't been edited to be on Santa's nice list. However, I've heard recommendations about them from a few people (even in here) and Sora made a few posts about em last month.
Webfugitive is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:22 AM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

The RP550 is a very good budget PSU with 35 amps total on the 12v's which is more than enough. The Xclio Goodpower 500w is also a good PSU though with I think its 32? I would have to look again.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:29 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webfugitive View Post
Okay after reading STE's sig link. Taking in alot of other variables. I'm running a very low power system, I just need a 12v rail that has a big enough kick in the @ss to keep my video cards head above water.

STE I noticed in your sig/link that Rosewill hasn't been edited to be on Santa's nice list. However, I've heard recommendations about them from a few people (even in here) and Sora made a few posts about em last month.
Rosewill is on there. And is not on the "to avoid list."
Ste is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:36 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

How about this ? I noticed a forum member is selling ...

OCZ PowerStream 520w

Looks like it fits my needs to me ?

... he's a hairy american isn't he ?

<update>
Top Rank Award From TweakNews.
[TWEAKNEWS] - OCZ POWERSTREAM 520WATT ATX COMPUTER POWER SUPPLY REVIEW - PAGE 7
Webfugitive is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:52 AM   #28 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

They are pretty decent units
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:39 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

omg... i just reread ur first post... u have a x1950gt... not XT, which was why i recommended the corsair 520 in the first place lmao, but a correction on my part a rosewill 550 watt is fine, plus 80$ is an awesome deal plus u have some upgrade-ability if u get some upgrades and such if u get get the corsair
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:45 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Anyone power supply savy ?

Yep the psu was the culprit. I'm running good now. Thanks everyone.
__________________

Webfugitive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.