anyone notice this .... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default anyone notice this ....

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 9600 Agena 2.3GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Retail

noice.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

I haven't been keeping up with AMD's price/performance cpu's. It's still going to be wolfdale for me.
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

I didnt know that these were coming out so soon. Apparently, it can clock to 3GHz on air, looks like a nice AMD chip. (and a viable Intel alternative)
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

3ghz is nothing it can get more.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

if the price goes under 200 i might just buy one and wait for the 750a SLI motherboard to come out. may wait for the fx as well and see how its priced.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

itl probably over clock preaty high but intel is still faster when comparign clock per clock, and what about the errata bug wont it affect it at speeds above 2.4ghz?
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: anyone notice this ....

^true^.
but at stock speeds (not that it matters much to us lol), the q6600 is only slightly...and i mean very slightly...faster. and it runs 2.4 while the phenom runs 2.3. the overclock scaling being better for intel is old news, we're (mostly) all aware of that. but it has to go pretty high (3.4-6ghz) to really do any kind of pulling away from a phenom at 3ghz.
but, i am not switching to intel unless forced to do so...lol and i dont think anyone is going to force me.
the tlb bug is way over-exaggerated. desktop users will never see it, im tellin ya. you see lots of reviews that bash the phenom because of this bug...but i have yet to see one of those negative reviews MAKE IT HAPPEN. that tells me something, eh?
one of the admins of hard forums has his running at 3+ghz with NO PROBLEM whatsoever. used for gaming, number crunching, etc.
he also has a stock 9600 folding 24/7 since they came out with NO PROBLEM whatsoever.
just like c2d this boils down to who do you like and how much will it cost? phenom BE 240, q6600 280. thats around what? 18% or so? thats about the difference in performance. so, clock for clock, it may be faster (in some cases)...but DOLLAR for DOLLAR they are pretty equal.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
so Crysis and Bioshock... atomic tofu PC Gaming 0 12-27-2007 02:47 PM
CRT Monitor Chaos24783 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-25-2007 03:34 PM
Apple Sends Takedown Notice To iPod Hacker's ISP Osiris Apple and Mac 2 09-28-2007 03:53 AM
60fps??help? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 12:51 PM
Will i Notice a Little bit of A difference.. ? NayNay1991x Off Topic Discussion 2 04-30-2007 02:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.