Anyone got a tuniq tower? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2007, 02:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Anyone got a tuniq tower?

http://www.tuniq.com.tw/Cooler%20Inf...2001-08Web.jpg

the instructions are terrible, although its not yet build time for me, I was wondering if anyone had any experience owning or installing a tuniq tower? Anything to watch out for?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Those instructions pretty much sums it up.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Those instructions pretty much sums it up.
I dunno its not very specific really, like it doesn't tell how to apply the thermal paste. I heard the copper base is actually concave which means if you press it down it won't press the thermal paste to a fine layer
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Pea size amount and let the heatsink do the pressing, isn't that hard.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Yeah i had to go thru that the instructions SUCK, thermal paste is easy, put a little dot and install the tuniq. Once the tuniq is installed twist it a little bit in both directions.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Here is a pretty good video on applying the thermal paste:

Paisan is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

I had to saw off part of the bracket to make it fit on my mobo...
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paisan View Post
Here is a pretty good video on applying the thermal paste:

hmmm using the plastic bag to self smear isnt really recommended in any instructions. Theres just too much chance it will leave air bubbles. Also he smeared the paste on the HFS when its supposed to be on the processor top instead. Later when he puts the tape on th processor to help get a horizontal line i think thats really bad cause cant tape leave some of that sticky residue?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 06:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

i like to spead it with a cerdit card first all over the chip in prob pea sized amount like said. then place tuniq ontop carefully in centre so wont have to move it much to line up all the screws
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 12:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Anyone got a tuniq tower?

I think the video is crap. If your worried about the concave surfaces, they really are, read up on "lapping". Tape can leave a residue and that wouldn't be nice and spreading it with anything other than direct force can lead to bubbles and poor distribution. The biggest thing about thermal paste is the amount you use, never less than a grain of rice, never more than pea. Also, you do not need to apply it to both heat sink and processor.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Further confusion, Tuniq tower related Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-21-2007 06:33 PM
Just got my tuniq tower! Raknor Overclocking and Modding 10 06-25-2007 11:23 AM
Tuniq Tower Cooler w/ Antec 900 Case Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-15-2007 09:04 AM
Tuniq Tower shan1784 Overclocking and Modding 16 06-12-2007 01:01 AM
Tuniq Tower 120 Riznarf Overclocking and Modding 5 05-06-2007 10:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.