Anybody use a UPS on thier PC? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2009, 07:06 PM   #51 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Yea it's ok, but seriously man I wouldn't go 3 way SLI or get a 1000watt PSU mate they are seriously over kill, cool yea but over kill.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 07:09 PM   #52 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California ;)
Posts: 181
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Eh, if I have to upgade in the futue, I won't have to upgrade my PSU, or pay for a GPU, with nice warrenties, so it's just a one time thing.
__________________

scrimstar is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 07:16 PM   #53 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Fair enough, I would urge you to get a UPS as soon as you can though mate.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 07:27 PM   #54 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California ;)
Posts: 181
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

I didn't buy mysystem, yet. Can ou confirim that the Monster HTS90 is bettr than the APC BR1500LCD? It has a 5 year warrenty, it's smaller, produces more watts, and looks better. I wantto buy it right now, because it' only $125 at the store.
scrimstar is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 06:50 AM   #55 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenenbaum View Post
There are two common systems in use today: standby UPS and continuous UPS. A standby UPS runs the computer off of the normal utility power until it detects a problem. At that point, it very quickly (in five milliseconds or less) turns on a power inverter and runs the computer off of the UPS's battery (see How Batteries Work for more information). A power inverter simply turns the DC power delivered by the battery into 120-volt, 60-Hertz AC power.

In a continuous UPS, the computer is always running off of battery power and the battery is continuously being recharged. You could fairly easily build a continuous UPS yourself with a largish battery charger, a battery and a power inverter. The battery charger continuously produces DC power, which the inverter continuously turns back into 120-volt AC power. If the power fails, the battery provides power to the inverter. There is no switch-over time in a continuous UPS. This setup provides a very stable source of power.

Source : HowStuffWorks "How does a computer's uninterruptible power supply (UPS) work?"
AKA Back Up and Online UPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by nderscore View Post
Cyberpower 1350AVR



Very nice static switch too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I have the house fuses, the socket is fused, the 5 way plug is fused, 5 way is fused, plug to the pc is fused. Our power supply is also fairly steady I would rather spend an extra £50 on my mouse and keyboard thanks. I definately see the point in less stable power areas but ours is steady and with 5-6 fuses between my pc and the direct power I am fairly happy.
But when one of those fuses blows.....bugger

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
What are some good brands for UPS's? I might consider getting one.
APC does the trick of you got the money, otherwise liebert is another good brand...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
Do these things ever run out of life? Kinda like surge protectors. Because they need replaced like every 5 years from the fuses wearing out on them.
Batteries should be replaced every 3 years tops, that is if the room temperature doesnt exceed 25 degrees C, otherwise you can kiss your battery life away...

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrimstar View Post
Can someone teach me abot this UPS thing?I plan on using a 1000 watt i7 rig, with a 52" HDTV, with a home theter system, so I tink I might ned this a lot. I might get a Monster UPS.

Monster Cable® Products, Makers of High-Definition Multimedia (HDMI) Cables, Video Cables, Audio Cables for Home Theater and The World's Most Advanced In-Ear Headphones.
2KVA machine would probally do the trick if your just wanting something to keep stuff running for a few minutes...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CntdwnToExtn View Post
I've got some nice 2200XL and 3000 APC UPS systems for my servers.
Very nice

I have a APC SU1000 on my server in my wardrobe(closet) and a little APC SU420 next to my pc, the power went out for about 2 hours the other day and i was able to keep gaming and internet until i found out that i hadn't yet put the external modem and router onto it , thats sorted now.

Also, not a good idea to put printers on UPS' (especially laser printers) unless the UPS is rated over 3KVA. Keep them in a cool space and you should get plenty of life out of them

Also, has anybody replaced the batteries themselves? Did you work out how to recalibrate the APC machines?
Tricks is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 08:06 AM   #56 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Never post 8 times in a row again, there is a edit button for a reason.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 08:07 AM   #57 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricks View Post
But when one of those fuses blows.....bugger
Then there are 4 more before it ever comes close to my pc. Plus where I live and the majority of the UK has very stable power due to the grid enabling power supplies be removed and added with no immediate impact on the power to peoples homes.

Oh the irony just had a power cut for 5 miutes
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 01:39 PM   #58 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Quote:
But when one of those fuses blows.....bugger
How? If you are behind 5 fuses you are pretty safe.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ups Sucks!!! Hussein19891 Off Topic Discussion 47 01-06-2009 09:10 PM
Wow, I'm really starting to hate UPS jester070993 Off Topic Discussion 23 01-02-2009 09:28 PM
UPS / PC Connection AntonOle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-23-2008 05:38 PM
A good UPS? emitskatan New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-29-2008 07:39 PM
Be warned of UPS FourTwenny System Upgrades 25 05-27-2008 01:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.