Anybody use a UPS on thier PC? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2009, 12:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

I have the house fuses, the socket is fused, the 5 way plug is fused, 5 way is fused, plug to the pc is fused. Our power supply is also fairly steady I would rather spend an extra £50 on my mouse and keyboard thanks. I definately see the point in less stable power areas but ours is steady and with 5-6 fuses between my pc and the direct power I am fairly happy.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

What are some good brands for UPS's? I might consider getting one.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I have the house fuses, the socket is fused, the 5 way plug is fused, 5 way is fused, plug to the pc is fused. Our power supply is also fairly steady I would rather spend an extra £50 on my mouse and keyboard thanks. I definately see the point in less stable power areas but ours is steady and with 5-6 fuses between my pc and the direct power I am fairly happy.

See but not only do you get power protection, you get backup battery power.

So the power cuts out and your system stays on. Not to mention you can get ups's for a very good price nowadays...no real reason not to have one.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
What are some good brands for UPS's? I might consider getting one.
APC has always been one of my favorites.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 01:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Fuses will only stop a power spike. Using a battery backup filters the power going to your computer.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 01:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

I will buy a super uber good UPS and power strip for my next computer..
Ste is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 01:58 PM   #17 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Have a CyberPower 1250VA. Best thing I bought for my PC.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 02:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

I have an apc 350watt, gonna put it to work on my server and gonna grab a new ups for my desktop.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 03:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

Do these things ever run out of life? Kinda like surge protectors. Because they need replaced like every 5 years from the fuses wearing out on them.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 04:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Anybody use a UPS on thier PC?

I've never used one on my home PC, but had one at work and it was annoying. It kept switching to battery power every 5 mins or so (the outlet was faulty). They are nice when something like that isn't happening. As mentioned they also provide surge protection and filtering. Lastly, most good brands will offer some sort of warranty against surge damage.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ups Sucks!!! Hussein19891 Off Topic Discussion 47 01-06-2009 09:10 PM
Wow, I'm really starting to hate UPS jester070993 Off Topic Discussion 23 01-02-2009 09:28 PM
UPS / PC Connection AntonOle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-23-2008 05:38 PM
A good UPS? emitskatan New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-29-2008 07:39 PM
Be warned of UPS FourTwenny System Upgrades 25 05-27-2008 01:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.