is any of this worth reusing? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2006, 05:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u

well i live in the country and theres not a stor within walkin distance...

2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3

Please children, let's keep this related to the topic and not your problems.

As far as your CPU, it might be worth your while to look into the new Dual Core's that are coming out and a MOBO to compliment that. 80 dollars for a motherboard seems rather cheap it might be missing out on some key features. Also, audigy 2 is older hardware at this point, what about audigy 4 or the newest XiFi audio. But I myself still use my 5.1 included onboard sound and with the Logitech they are coupled with I have no complaints, so maybe spend the money elsewhere. 7800 GT or GTX are the way to go as far as fastest performance. All of these will have S-Video out to get your signal to a television for viewing pleasure (yay anime ^_^) Case sounds fine thats really up to you, 500 Watts though is very necessary as these new graphics cards use up a lot of wattage. Also, if you go with AMD it's usually a good idea to buy a third party cooling solution, check out to get a few ideas. 2 gigs of ram might be overkill for your uses but I guess it can't hurt :P. Hope this helps.


mmardigan is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

"mmardigan" Good call on getting back to the topic of the post. That MSI board rocks my socks lol. It's one of the best budget boards out there. The only thing I can thing of that it's missing is firewire, If he needs firewire he can buy the model up. And btw he is getting Dual-Core "X2 3800". I really don't think that he needs that great a sound card, high preformance sound cards IMO are for recordings and professional work. As for a powersupply, wattage isin't the only thing to look out for, you also have to take note of the amperage on the 12V rail. I recommend anything above 25-28. And finally if there is going to be no major overclocking there is no reason for him to buy a new CPU hs/f. The new design of athlon allows them to run very cool not needing aftermarket cooling.

"2fast4u" Why don't you pm him and talk about this in private.

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
boomstick666's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743

Originally posted by reggie_da_man
I really don't think that he needs that great a sound card, high preformance sound cards IMO are for recordings and professional work.
wrong there...any x-fi series r for gamer and amature home recording. as im a professional in audio, the system for example Degidesign ProTools HD, now thats professional.
it costs more than $10,000 btw. so i recommend getting x-fi extrememusic if u want good quality in games.
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38

this is a link to the case, i couldnt see any specs on the power supply.

think i might be better off buying a power supply and a empty case.

So what im getting is the mobo listed is good, but one step up would be best if i can afford it right? Ill pass on the sound card and go with onboard sound since i dont have any complaints so far with it. And use the extra $$ for alittle better mobo.

Can someone recommend a good mobo for 200 or less?

heres the links for the other stuff.


video card

Jesta is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543

looks good except your ram, its ddr2 makes sure you find regular ddr ram
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38

yeah i think i linked the wrong one, heres the proper ram

Jesta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.