Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2007, 02:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Usually 10-30GBs, depending on how much apps you install too.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

lets say the following apps:

windows
adobe photoshop cs2
movie editing software
some light home designing software (the retail ones u get)
paintshop pro
a good dvd ripper
and u-torrent for downloading stuff
direct X 10
and some games
__________________

Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:18 PM   #23 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Probably 30-50GB. I usually set my Windows partition to 30GB. And I like to separate my games and downloads on the other partitions.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Probably 30-50GB. I usually set my Windows partition to 30GB. And I like to separate my games and downloads on the other partitions.
gimme a good partition estimate for the primary hard-disk which is 320 gb

and the secondary which is 500 gb.
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:37 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber.Logan View Post
gimme a good partition estimate for the primary hard-disk which is 320 gb

and the secondary which is 500 gb.

Remmeber you will want to use the Secondary as A back up drive.

Meaning whatever files you have on the 320GB drive that you deem important are duplicated onto the 500GB Drive.

And when you run out of space, whatever you can't fit on the 320..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:42 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cyber.Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 77
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Remmeber you will want to use the Secondary as A back up drive.

Meaning whatever files you have on the 320GB drive that you deem important are duplicated onto the 500GB Drive.

And when you run out of space, whatever you can't fit on the 320..
is it also possible to allot a part of the system memory just to these apps?

like if i have say 2 gigz of ram, can i allot like 1 gig just to the os to run smoothly kinda thing..
Cyber.Logan is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 02:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Any software to monitor the cpu/gpu temperatures?

Uh, yea, called Pagefile. If Both Drives are attached directly to mobo by SATA or EIDE you can place a Page file on both Drives. (If its USB External you could also do this, but then you would have to leave the External on all the time to use its Pagefile)

I myself "alloted" 1024MB to my page file and made it static.


If your talking about the RAM itself. Then no. You cannot manually set what the memory does and what uses it. Whatever is running will be on either just the RAM, the RAM and some pagefile, or just Pagefile. Most programs use mostly RAM and a small small amount of pagefile.

The amount of harddrives, space or partitions you have has nothing to do the RAM and its allocation.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpu temp monitoring software for snypercore Overclocking and Modding 11 05-20-2007 10:15 PM
Can't install some lame cheap software... Cajete Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-14-2007 12:52 PM
Processors, D-Link Gaming Router, and Software for Sale Mantis-X Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 05-03-2007 04:54 PM
Good Network Access Control Software lbduballstrs Linux and Open Source 0 04-09-2007 11:59 AM
Academic Versions of Microsoft Software Mantis-X Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-04-2007 12:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.